Haiku for A Bowl of Random Words 5

fragile bud graces
twig . . . melting snow in trickles
truth invisible

A Bowl of Random Words 5

Monday Poetry Train Revisited

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Haiku for A Bowl of Random Words 5

  1. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Wow! This haiku is just really cool! No other way to poignantly describe it.

  2. jingle says:

    it is always refreshing to read your work,
    what gifted writer.
    with a creative mind and beautiful heart,
    you are unbeatable. 😉

  3. Andy Sewina says:

    Yeah, love the bit about melting snow in trickles!

    You did well with the 5 words ‘cos there’s already nine syllables in the prompt. Then again, there are many ways to cut a piece of cloth!

    nicely written.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Andy!
      Thanks for stopping by and doing a bit of reading. You’re right about the syllable count. Sometimes I know I can’t use all the words from the Bowl in one haiku. Sometimes I can, but it just felt too cramped. This time I saw the poem almost as soon as I finished reading the words. Thanks for leaving your nice comment. Good to hear from you again.

  4. lesliepaints says:

    Hi Yousei. Fragile bud is vivid but you got me hooked on this one with the trickles for what the melting snow was doing.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Leslie,
      I love mother sparrow’s Bowl of Random Words, but sometimes they are just right for haiku. She writes cinquain and haiku (wonderful ones!), so that might have something to do with it. Trickles is a great word. Thanks for coming by. 🙂

  5. Susan says:

    Haiku is still something strange to me, something that I’ve not yet tried. I loved the image of the fragile bud on one side and the twig on the other side[that’s how I took it].
    I’ve read some of your poems and have always felt the images in them touching the images on your header. It’s peaceful, soothing and stunning to look at.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Susan,
      Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. I like your reading of this haiku, a fragile bud juxtaposed to a twig. One of the good things, to me, about poetry is that we can all read the same poem and find a different treasure.

      I love this header too. It came with the blog layout. I’ve started to change it a few times, but I just can’t quite give it up. It fits haiku so well. I look at it and feel as you do, longing to take a quiet walk in the lovely place. Thank you again for coming by. Visit again whenever you like. 🙂

  6. Sandy says:

    I agree with the group, this is a very good haiku. Just the right tone.

  7. Technobabe says:

    Ah, grace. Invisible?
    Truth trickles slowly
    Bending the twig of deceit

    You got me started and I am liking it.
    Here is what I posted on the
    Random 5 words site.

  8. Julie says:

    Hey, Cuz! Awesome work. I love “truth invisible.” Your voice here is so lovely and quiet, but it makes a big impact.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      CousinJ,
      Thank you, my dear. I’ve been getting a lot of encouragement today, and for some reason, it is a good day for getting it. Blessings work that way, hmmm? Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  9. taylorprescott says:

    I quite like this.

    Admittedly, having looked through more of your work, you’ve made Haiku appealing to me. For far too long, I’ve been stuck reading haiku produced by those who don’t really take the form seriously.

    But you’ve showcased the delicate beauty of Haiku, and it’s amazing.

    This is a beautiful piece.

    Cheers,

    Taylor

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Taylor,
      Welcome. Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. I’m glad you enjoy the haiku you have read here. It is my favorite form. It is a form that can teach writers so much. Visit any time. You are most welcome.

  10. jingle says:

    smooth flow,
    fresh images,

    I love your Haiku very much.
    cheers, 😉

  11. Tacy says:

    Wow, that’s a beautiful Haiku. I imagine snow melting, and someone trying to figure out who they are. (I probably imagine that last part because of my age!) Thank you for posting your beautiful poems.

  12. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This is a good one. Very good. Yes…

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

