Japanese Cultural Center and Teahouse

A beautiful part of Japanese culture is their tea ceremony.  With no chance of visiting Japan in the near future, I searched for some cultural events at a college close to where I live.  Amazingly, my online search revealed something even better and closer —  Awa Saginaw An.

Though I uncovered this Japanese Cultural Center over two months ago, I wasn’t able to visit until two weeks ago.  Sadly, I missed their 25th-5oth combined anniversary celebration, and even worse, missed the cherry blossoms.  Still, now that it is found, I plan to visit as often as I can, barring real life snags and gas prices.

Here are some of the photos I took on my two visits, and one visit included observing a tea ceremony. (The plaque reads:

This Peace Pole is Presented to the City of Saginaw by Children Against Wars October 23, 1987)

_________________________________________________________________

Even the outside of the garden area had beautiful landscaping.

_________________________________________________________________

The garden was designed by Yataro Suzue, and it has the traditional elements of Japanese gardens.  My favorites are the waterfall and the entwined tree.

__________________________________________________________________

Finally the teahouse and ceremony.

cherry blossoms past
I enter the teahouse–tea
and dogwood welcome

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Gallery, Haiku, Photo, Poetry, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Japanese Cultural Center and Teahouse

  1. Pingback: Tea house japan | Irisnicolef

  2. rdl says:

    so very nice. we have a local museum that does them during the summer and i’ve been meaning/trying to go for years- i think i will get myself there this year.

  3. Kestrel says:

    Missing You,
    Kes =)

  4. Artswebshow says:

    Tea does make the world go round. lol
    I drink it in between coffee’s

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Artswebshow,
      Lol! You sound like me. Everyday there’s a competition to see which is the preferred drink. Some days I’m sweet on tea, and the next it’s nothing but coffee. Hope your home life has settled and you’re enjoying it now.

  5. Lucky indeed! Looking forward to see some Tanabata-inspired poems. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      So happy you stopped by. How is the job/home hunting going? Settled in to the temporary for now? I am really looking forward to going to the Tanabata celebration. Unfortunately it won’t be at night. I’m still planning on going, but life is a hurricane right now, and all my plans may be scattered and drowned. Who knows? I may follow you into uncertainty and life questing soon. Best luck to you.

  6. Fantastic garden. It looks so peaceful and beautiful.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      gobetweenflames,
      Thank you. I loved the visit, gardens and ceremony. Really wish I lived closer. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Visit any time.

  7. slpmartin says:

    Amazing images…hard to believe that is in Michgan.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      It is a lovely little place. The designer of the garden and teahouse were both from Japan. The workmen on the exterior of the teahouse were also a specialized team from Japan. I look forward to seeing it through the seasons.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

