Dissertation Journal 4

  • What motivated me to begin with?
  • What am I struggling with?

What motivated me? It was the idea that I could change the way I teach in a way that would empower students . . . in a way that would acknowledge their authentic voices.

The main struggle is with me–giving in to procrastination, balancing teaching to studenting, and wrestling with self-doubt and imposter syndrome. Yup. Those are the main things. With the clock ticking, I’ve made some changes.

  • Scheduled time to write every day–appointment with success
  • Given myself permission to focus on my stuff and reframing this as necessary to being the best educator I can be
  • Scheduled my first counseling appointment to begin speaking a different truth in my head, a positive one

This is how it feels.

“I Can See Clearly Now” by Johnny Nash video

About T A Hillin-Smith

Just one of the literacy scholars on this site who wants to explore writing in all its complexities.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dissertation Journal 4

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.