Forensics

there are different
symbiotic connections,
but simply put we
interact because we need
each other–what are your needs?

“Please stay.  I need you.”
“I will protect you and your dreams.”
“With you I’m happy.”
“Without you I am not whole.”
These things that were never said.

which is mistletoe,
promising a long, sweet kiss
which is sturdy spruce,
storm-strong, battered, still standing
within a draining embrace

pale, paler coral
without a little sugar
offers nothing to
algae it houses, not even
waste of its cooling body

asked in the email:
recognize best intentions
then give your blessing
to go on my way and see
what could be in my future

does loss grieve an ant
gone sweet aphid honeydew
outside protection
outside control this aphid
braves the world for the first time

regretful bee clings
to a pollen-less flower
buzzes of best intentions
patient, withdrawn this flower
feeds itself into new seed

Symbiotic

Symbiotic (Photo credit: Intrepidteacher)

would coral live on
if it kept fading algae
won’t the ant just find
another aphid to shield
existence–what are your needs

separation builds
bodies without synergy
separation severs
bodies from parasitic
each host solitude or death

for Margo’s Poem Tryouts: A Narrative Slant

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts, Tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Forensics

  1. “does loss grieve an ant”
    this line, that stanza
    a fine wrapping of connections lost

    as usual I arrive dwaddling along at my own distracted pace
    sniffing every track marking along the way

    Yes, I LIKE and more–the any will stick in my brain-box now.

  2. First, my friend … you are going to be fifty. Ha! A very good year. However, I had always thought that perhaps you were going to be 40. Funny the ideas we have of people whom we like but have never met. So … I like this. It is well done. It is interesting. But I was saying to myself … hmm, what is this? Then at the bottom you share the challenge and it made perfect sense.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Liz,
      So I seem younger? That pleases me. I used to look younger, but I can’t make that claim anymore. That’s fine too. As to the poem (or series of poems), all I can say is it was fun. I wanted to find something to bind a series of ideas and events together. Margo’s prompt gave me a liberal framework, and from there I went metaphor hunting. Glad you enjoyed it. I’m always happy to have you read and share your thoughts.

      • You are a doll … oh, I chuckle for this AM, writing HOME, I thought that I saved it as a draft to finish later. But I saw your comment and realized that I had pushed the publish button instead. Well, then I knew that I must finish it up. 😉

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Liz,
          Ironic. When I read it, I thought, “This doesn’t feel finished. That’s not like Liz.” Looking forward to reading the rest. Let me know when you finish it. 🙂

  3. ladynyo says:

    So much loss here. Sadness overwhelming.

    Lady Nyo

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lady Nyo,
      Welcome back. I can’t deny those feelings, but hope and other positive feelings are there as well. For one, it feels damn good to write again. Why do I fall into these lulls? Foolish rabbit. Happy you stopped in to read and comment.

      • ladynyo says:

        I think it’s natural after these things….the lull.

        I would suggest, though, that this poem be cut in two. Or shortened just a bit. The reason is because, though all of it is logical and proceeds in order, it swamps the senses….or the sadness. However, that might be just me. I write shorter poetry than most.

        But to write anything again! That is the best!

        Lady Nyo

  4. This is absolutely beautiful. So sad too, for sure.

  5. Morgan says:

    Powerful verse…particularly the ending. Very Nice 🙂

  6. brian miller says:

    def interesting to explore the various sides of relationship….interesting the things that live off each other…those that help each other and those in which one just feeds…and this goes well off the natural world as well…smiles.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      I also thought the ideas bounced off one another well, sort of like throwing two pebbles in a pond and watching the ripples intersect. Thank you as always for stopping in and sharing your thoughts.

  7. Brendan says:

    Symbiosis and paratacism – All’s fair in love and war. Or as Gary Snyder would say — no blame. Very nice write.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Brendan,
      Thank you. I’ve really enjoyed reading your latest posts. Haven’t had much time for comments, but I promise I’ll leave one soon. Thank you for coming by to read and share.

  8. ayala says:

    Interesting perspective and a lovely poem.

  9. adamsmurphy says:

    You remind of biology! Symbiosis and parasiticm! There are so much to these things! Thanks for sharing this

  10. Oh yes there is lot to learn about symbiotic vs. parasitic… win-win and loose-loose. Why can’t we learn?

  11. slpmartin says:

    The last stanza was very striking to me….though I enjoyed the whole poem.

  12. margo roby says:

    This is fascinating. I loved not quite knowing where you were going [in the sense of the bodies, not the theme, which is clear all the way through] but that bodies played a role, and then reading the final stanza!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

