Student Senryu 4

Tried to do a night Sky shot, harder than anti...

Tried to do a night Sky shot, harder than anticipated, but I wanted to get the stars and milky way reflected in the water (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

midterm dread
midst milky way stars
dim thesis

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Senryu and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Student Senryu 4

  1. Beautiful. Heavy sigh for the night sky.
    Hmm, curious about this dim thesis.
    Hello. Thanks for your ‘dance’ comment.
    Such things can be arrange.
    Milky Way…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      47whitebuffalo,
      Dim these = Even after weeks of research, I have no idea what to write about within the broad topic I’ve choice. Argh!!!! As to which art-star I like in your Milky Way . . . I’ll have to go look. Rabbits are always nice. 😉

      • May I ask what your broad topic is?
        Indeed, rabbits are very nice.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          47whitebuffalo,
          My very broad topic was to write something in connection with teaching composition to second language learners. I’d begun to narrow it down to teaching English composition to Japanese students (probably college but possibly high school) with a focus on uses of peer tutoring, use of writing lab, or use of online peer tutoring. What I found was I did not know enough about any of the areas I wanted to write about so as to write with authority and precision (write something that wasn’t a vague summary of all my findings). A lot has changed in the 25 years since I’ve been in grad school, and my gaps in knowledge were painfully evident. (Probably more than you were interested in knowing, but there you have it.)

          • Oh I am very interested, Poetic Rabbit. Very interested indeed. Is this project still viable or not?

            • Yousei Hime says:

              I think it’s viable. I just don’t have the background to write on it. All areas of study have changed in their approaches and methodology since I was a grad student. I little overwhelming, but I feel better since I’ve stepped back from it. The best approach, of course, would be to travel to Japan and do field work. Perhaps when I get into grad school such an opportunity will materialize.

            • Yes I think it’s viable too. My daughter has been teaching English as a second language in Korea and also in Poland. She’s worked with children and adults. The most effective means appear to be the simplest –as in starting with practical reality for associative language with active life work.
              I don’t know where you live, but I do know that in many communities in the states there is a rising number of people who do not speak English as their first language. Perhaps you could make contact with an outreach center in order to do ‘field research’ via volunteering? Just one thought.
              Is education your focus for grad school?
              Am curious now that you’ve put forth so much information.

            • Yousei Hime says:

              No, it’s English, and my Masters work (oh so long ago) was in English literature. Thus the topic is a big departure from what I know. My initial rationale for going that route was looking into something that might be more marketable than a lit professor. Given my age, I’ve got to be a bit more mercenary about it than I’d like. I still find the whole topic very interesting, potentially practical, and needed.

            • English literature. It appears we share some common ground. O my.
              Okay, I’ll bite. Which ‘period’ of English?
              As for age–BAHHHHHH humbug! How young is your mind? Hmm?

            • Yousei Hime says:

              Well, I feel the same about age, but the people hiring professors aren’t as open minded. Romantics (of course). 😉

            • Romantics, of course.
              I should have known.
              LOL.
              Oh my. )
              Renaissance Drama here.
              “oranges anyone in the pits?” Hmm? LOL.

            • Yousei Hime says:

              Renaissance Drama. Wow. Nice. Don’t find many of those anymore. You’re a rare find, my dear. I finally tracked down your art site (I am soooo slow tonight). I liked the ones I liked best (which could have easily been all). You could send me anything and I’d be ecstatic. Let me know what I need to do to start dancing. 🙂

            • I shall as soon as my yahoo decides to let me do anything at all!
              Hmm where is that electric fur drier?

            • I think I have sent you ’email’. Ha!
              To send or not to send — on cyber-space it all depends.

            • Yousei Hime says:

              47whitebuffalo,
              You did! I received all of it (at least from the progression of the email content it appears so). I have to look things over, and I’ll get back to you on which option I go with. I’m very excited. 😀

            • Okay Poetic Rabbit, thanks for the ‘received’ heads up.
              Time to eat the last of the dandelion greens before the frost nips them!

      • Having read the other comments — Dear Yousei–try to keep in mind that a paper is only a paper–albeit important in its own context. Try to have FUN with such things. A switch up in approach might help?

        • Yousei Hime says:

          47whitebuffalo,
          Your advice is sound, but alas, I have already dropped the course. I’m still reading the assignments, attending and participating, but I’m not doing the paper. With everything else going on in my life right now, it was impossible to keep sane and stable. I never needed the grade/credit anyway. I just needed to get back into school mode (which I’ve done), to fill gaps in knowledge (which I’m working on), to produce writing samples for use in graduate school applications (which I’m trying to do on my own), and to procure letters of reference from professors (which I won’t be able to do just yet). There are still a lot of benefits even though I had to drop.

  2. claudia says:

    oh i can feel you…hope all is going well…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      claudia,
      Thank you for the visit and comment. Things are going well for the most part, not necessarily the way I want them to go, but not headed for disaster either. Hope to write more now. I appreciate your visit and always enjoy your writing.

  3. Luke Prater says:

    I love the way, either side of the enormity and beauty of the milky way line, you juxtapose the anxiety you personally feel about an upcoming deadline/college work. it’s the small and the big and how well they go together when phrased right. and so few syllables. V effective

  4. mareymercy says:

    Ha – this is perfect

  5. slpmartin says:

    Made me think of some of my papers at university. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      I don’t remember any of my papers stressing me out as much as this one has. I have had to drop the class due to personal circumstances. Very disappointed in that an in my performance. Lots of plusses from the class though. New friends, information, humility, etc. 😉

  6. Oh I do love it and I am chucking as I write!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

