Moment’s Touch

velveteen
my son’s “I love you”
on voicemail

English: rex rabbit Nederlands: Rex konijn castorcreamy
day’s end–slipped between
crisp, clean sheets

prickly
unexpectedly
words recalled

A Rex rabbit

chapped
phone conversation
with sister

dimpled
from birth one corner
of his smile

powdery
Bocelli’s high note
smiles on skin

Deutsch: Gelb - Rex, Rassenkaninchen, 1,0

sodden
these deep womb aches
mixed feelings

For Margo Roby’s Poem Tryouts.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Prompts, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Moment’s Touch

  1. OOO I’ve missed your Rabbit writings for too long. Why? Hmm

    Last stanza — internal and visceral.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      47whitebuffalo,
      Well, a mixed bag of excuses and not a clear useable one among them. I’m starting a class soon, and I suspect I’ll use writing as a way to avoid assignments. I’m so delightfully warped. Look for a post in the near future.

  2. Today you have given me many smiles, thank you.

  3. The new prompt is up if you want to have a go =)

  4. Lindy Lee says:

    Delightful definitions…

  5. This is so beautiful and moving =) The new prompt is up I really miss your writing!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      mindlovemisery,
      Thank you. I’ve the best of intentions, but haven’t managed to write much lately. I’ve been cut off from blogging at work. 😦 Apparently WordPress is a social networking site. Just as well. It will get me on my computer at home and get me to writing.

  6. Geoff says:

    Beautiful poem … love the structure. I’m going to try this 🙂

  7. margo roby says:

    Love the structure. I’m going to try that today with one of the poems I’m working on about my mother. I noted the comment you made Liz taking a haibun approach to memoir. I have a note next to my mother’s poems to use haibun!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Margo,
      Thank you. I was pleased even though it has been so long since I wrote in the form. If you haven’t visited Liz’s site and read, you should. I think haibun as a form for memoir is wonderful. Perhaps that’s not a traditional use of the form, but I don’t think its too far off. Isn’t that what Basho’s journey journals are considered? What a wonderful pairing with your mother’s poems. I love the idea. 😀

  8. Yousei, these are really lovely. Thank you for your (really meaningful comment). Hugs, Liz

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

