Life at the Card Table

It’s hard to tell now
what the hand holds.

The House shows
a pair of teacups,
fomenting verdant highways.

So braided clematis vows and
trilled cotton diapers discarded.

If only to draw
straight bruised piano keys
or
royal pages, photos, quilts flush

Batten hope
for freckled chocolate,
three-of-a-kind,
or even just
forgotten heart high.

So many cards played, still
abstain from folding now.
These hands still
pulse deftly.

for Margo Roby’s Poem Tryouts: A Show of Hands

Hands of cards

Hands of cards (Photo credit: quinn.anya)

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life at the Card Table

  1. You are not writing enough, (just a wee bit of pressure), I miss you. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Don’t I know it. I need to go to bed, so I can finish writing a class paper, but I’d rather write more (for me and you). 😉 You’ll see me around more if for no other reason than writing a blog entry is a feel-good excuse to put off doing classwork.

  2. margo roby says:

    Nice! Not just imagery but extended metaphor 🙂

    Two in a row is exciting!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Margo,
      I think it borders on miraculous. I started a third but haven’t gotten too far. You’ll see it when you see it. 😉 I appreciate you coming by.

  3. braided clematis vows…LOVE that and ALL beautiful!!

  4. lesliepaints says:

    Oh! I love this one, Yousei! To think of all the card games I’ve played over the years and relating them to life. What a gem of a thought. They all relate! I think I would have just titled this “Cards” and let me reader associate. Beautiful. Timeless!

  5. marey says:

    Beautiful conclusion!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

