Serendipity

There is so much going on in my life now and much of it good.  Still it just feels more turbulent, like the cloud fronts over the Midwest.   Listening to NPR over the weekend, I heard an unforgettable song.  It isn’t a haiku, but I heard poetic moments vibrating throughout its lyrics.  Even though the song is somber, it shines brightly for me.  So I’m sharing the lyrics and a link with you.  How simply perfect is that title.

Unfamiliar moon
Stars are out of place
Everything is new
Everything is changed
Like a baby child
Just has to cry
When he sees it for the first time
And he don’t understand
Now that there’s no you
Everything is new
Like this unfamiliar moon

That can’t be our song
Those aren’t the words I know
The melody’s all wrong
But the DJ says “That’s just how it goes”
Like a child has to learn
On his own
You get too close to a bird
And she’ll be gone
Now that there’s no you
Everything is new
Like this unfamiliar moon

This can’t be my house
How can this be home?
I don’t recognize it
Anymore
Each step to the front door
Is higher than I’ve known
It’s like climbing up a mountain
‘Cause now I climb alone
Now that there’s no you
Everything is new
Like this unfamiliar moon

All about Vance Gilbert

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Asides, Music, Reflections, Uncategorized, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Serendipity

  1. Luke Prater says:

    What a great song. Thanks for that… gonna hunt out more Vance Gilbert now!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Luke,
      Glad you liked it. I had to listen to it again this morning. Puts me in a contemplative mood. Let me know if you find anything else to recommend.

      • Luke Prater says:

        Oh man I have so much stuff on my iTunes it’s silly… I can name a few that stand out that I’ve discovered recently though – Wild Child (debut album Pillow Talk is fab), Mumford & Sons (first album esp), Girlyman (incredible cover of George Harrison’s My Sweet Lord on one album), The Be Good Tanyas, also like Walk Off The Earth even if a little pop-orientated… hot me back if you want a YouTube vid link to some of the best stuff sis

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Luke,
          I’m trying to control myself to keep from spending more on iTunes. I’ll check these out. Appreciate the suggestions. Nothing like finding another song to love.

          • Luke Prater says:

            Oh, I don;t spend a penny on the iTunes store. Don’t ever do that. Just import stuff into the library. There are MP3 download sites (legal pay sites) that are really cheap, like $15 for a month all you can eat, or like 15 or 20 cents a track. iTunes is daylight robbery. The only thing I’ve ever bought from iTunes are one or two crucial iPhone apps (mainly photography). Plus there’s all your CDs to rip

  2. ladynyo says:

    Yep, some times a song does it…reflects life in the fullest.

    Lady Nyo

  3. lesliepaints says:

    “Each step to the front door
    Is higher than I’ve known”
    Those two lines grabbed me and took me back. A tear or two, the time before, the time now. How many times do we do this in a lifetime and not only in regards to a relationship. Our lives are kind of like a poem, don’t you think? One poem being rewritten many times over? Thank you for sharing this, Yousei.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I like the idea of our lives as poems. Perhaps a collection of poems, each our own volume (or even volumes). I like your idea that we share the form (poetry) and are rewritten for each individual. Interesting to think about who the author of each poem is. I’m certain we’d all have different ideas about that. Perhaps I’ll borrow your thoughts and create a prompt with them. Okay with you? 😀

      • lesliepaints says:

        Oh my goodness, YES!!! That is what the above post inspired me to consider. I actually thought that was the point of your post. I have come to see my repeat students’ styles in their art. They could lay their weekly projects in front of me, unsigned, and I would be able to tell who the artist is. I figured it was similar for poets.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Leslie,
          😀 Intended it or not, I’m glad it’s the point you saw in this post. I think one can recognize poets as one does artists, but it definitely requires deep familiarity, unless the poet/artist has a very unique style.

  4. wonderful reminders!

  5. I felt certain I responded to this but then again its been bad weather and my internet connection isn’t stable that or I responded in my own head again lol. I have listened to this song so many times now, love it =)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      mindlovemisery,
      😀 I know how you feel. I will travel this weekend and be without internet most of the time. 😦 Funny what we grow to depend on. So glad you enjoyed the song. Happy to share it with you.

  6. claudia says:

    love the lyrics and there are def. times when the stars are out of place and the moon seems unfamliar…and we have to adjust again, anew to things, to life, to circumstances

  7. Very beautiful indeed. Thank you.

  8. Very evocative lyrics … sad, melancholy, and yet still full of reverberating hope.

  9. brian miller says:

    whats interesting is that this poem is wide open to interpretation all in how you look at the loss of them….all things new sounds so positive…that now they are gone its full of new possibility…or of course it could be that nothing feels the same now….cool verse…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian miller,
      Just to be sure you know, this isn’t my poem. These are the lyrics to a song by Vance Gilbert. I truly wish I’d written it. I agree that one of the strengths of the piece is its mutable imagery. I had the exact same thoughts about the “all things new” phrase. Thank you for sharing. I really enjoy reading your thoughts.

  10. henna ink says:

    “Stars are out of place” … I love that line. And who would be so deep and intuitive to even know the stars are not in their places, but certainly for the one who placed them there?

    Ooh, I like this too:
    “Now that there’s no you
    Everything is new
    Like this unfamiliar moon” … And this could be good or bad, depending on how you look at it. Newness can be terrifying or exciting.

    And this:
    “That can’t be our song
    Those aren’t the words I know” … How our memories change, get skewed. We suddenly don’t know who we’re remembering or if our memories are correct at all. Has the person changed, or is our memory of them slanted?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      henna ink,
      Good, isn’t it. I’ve listened to it so many times since this weekend. I love how the simple words and phrases create such depth of emotion and story. So happy you came by to share it with me. 😀

  11. Growing pains of parenting come to mind…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      M. J. Joachim,
      I thought of that too, not when I heard the song but when I read the lyrics. I’m sure it is because of the phrases “Like a baby child” and “Like a child has to learn” and the image of climbing difficult steps in the last stanza. Thank you for stopping in to read and comment.

  12. ManicDdaily says:

    Feels like a trip to elsewhere. k.

  13. blancaster99 says:

    Haunting – I love it.

  14. slpmartin says:

    Those are indeed lovely lyrics…thanks ever so much for sharing them.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

