Sijo — Korean Poetic Form

Spring Without Sakura

To a windy gulf coast city, spring does not bring cherry blossoms.
High blue skies and blue-green waves, we almost always have.
But for a time we wade in spring–deep blossom waves of bluebonnets.

Oceans of bluebonnets with paintbrushes sprink...

Oceans of bluebonnets with paintbrushes sprinkled about, simply beautiful, April 15, 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit dVerse Form for All: From Out of Asia post for details on creating and examples of this form.  There is also an opportunity to post your own via Mr. Linky at the end of that post.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts, Sijo and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Sijo — Korean Poetic Form

  1. cloudfactor5 says:

    I have found Sijo to be a very elegant poetic form, and your poem definitely does it justice !!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      cloudfactor5,
      Thank you. You’re familiar with Sijo? I’d never heard of it until the post on dVerse. I like it too. I hope to read more about it when I have just a wee bit more time. Perhaps some other knowledgable person could post something about it. 😉

  2. This is beautiful! I wanted to try this form but I haven’t yet wrapped my head around it; you have done a masterful job!

    Prompt 2 is up if you want to participate =)

  3. Yousei
    Thank you for the visit to my blog and the introduction to Sijo. I spent some time on the site you recommended and read “Song of My Five Friends”. It is awesome and your “Spring Without Sakura” is just as good. Today you have broadened my world with an introduction to a new form of poetry (for me) and I learned a new word “Sakura”. There are many Koreans in the neighborhood that I live in so I I will attempt to learn more about this form of poetry. Whether I will ever be able to write it is another issue.
    Also, as you stated, we all see nature in forms that relate to us. I do not have cherry blossoms where I live and even though they are beautiful, I do not miss them. When I see a cherry tree I can only relate to the years I spent picking them when i was growing up.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      gsbatty/Old Grizz,
      Welcome. Thank you for returning the visit. I’m pleased you found good things to read and other places to visit. I enjoyed reading your observations on the sijo and the poem itself. I understand a bit of what you feel about cherry trees. I’ve never picked cotton, and I love the fields when the cotton is almost ready to pick. I know though, that if I had ever worked in those feels, my feelings would be very, very different. Please come by and share again.

  4. Luke Prater says:

    Very pretty. Korean, eh?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Luke,
      That’s what I’m told. I was unfamiliar with it until the post at dVerse. I haven’t gone searching, but there are probably more details somewhere in the internet universe. If you go on a quest, let me know if you find anything. Happy to see you here and writing at your place. 🙂

  5. ladynyo says:

    Lovely, simply lovely….delicate, too.

    Lady Nyo

  6. ManicDdaily says:

    Ah, lovely – a wave of blue. k.

  7. JInksy says:

    Sakura is one of my favourite scents – sad to think of it being missing… I enjoyed your words full of Eastern Promise though…

  8. Lila says:

    A delicate contemplation of nature. I like the line “for a time we wade in spring.”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lila,
      Welcome and thank you for following. I like that line too, especially since one could read it loosely as “wading in a spring” as well as wandering through the time that is spring. Happy to have you here and sharing.

  9. David King says:

    What a totally original poem! A real delight to read.

  10. Tony Maude says:

    Spring is late here too; usually we have cherry blossom in May, and bluebells in the woods. I really enjoyed your sijo, sharing a different view of Spring for us to wade in 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tony,
      Welcome back. The differences in seasonal reference from person-to-person, region-to-region–those are some of my favorite things about dealing with haiku. Now I have a new form, an expanded form,from which to plunder various images. Delighted you visited again and shared your thoughts. Wade in anytime.

  11. Kelvin S.M. says:

    ..i felt that though i couldn’t imagine the approaching of Spring without the Sakuras… they just bring so many many things in mind when you look at ’em…. really nice sijo… smiles…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kelvin S.M.,
      Spring conjures different images for different people. For my mother, it brings the birds she loves, especially the hummingbirds. Even though I’ve never seen a shower of cherry blossoms, I always think of them when spring approaches. I’d say it is part of my love for and fascination with Japanese culture. Thank you so much for reading and sharing your thoughts.

  12. kkkkaty1 says:

    Ahhhh…to wade in spring…lovely.

  13. Wonderful word picture you painted, with the waves and different shades of blues and greens in the skies, the flora, the leaves… beautifully wrought.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Samuel Peralta/Semaphore,
      I hope I did the form justice. I really like it, for there are times the poem in me just cannot be confined to a haiku. I appreciate your visit and observations. Thank you once more for posting about this form on dVerse.

  14. Ajaytao2010 says:

    oh what a beautiful poem a beautiful expression of your heart.

  15. kaykuala says:

    Beautiful rendition of what spring is like, Yousei! Such a welcome change from the drab coldness and you brought it out very well!

    Hank

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hank,
      Thank you. We’ve had a bit of “cold” down here the last few days. [Not cold to me having moved from Michigan, but everyone else is complaining.] I appreciate your comment and am happy you approve the poem. Visit any time.

  16. Irene says:

    I want sakura. You’re lucky to be consoled by bluebonnets.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Irene,
      I want sakura too. *whine, whine* Actually, I want both. Going 25 years without seeing my bluebonnets, I’m not ready to give them up again just yet. I think I really will talk to my mom about planting a Japanese cherry tree at her place. Hope they can grow there. Thanks for reading and sharing.

      • Irene says:

        Never seen sakura nor bluebonnets. Well at least it’s something to live for. Hope you talk your mom into it. 😉

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Irene,
          Not either? You know, you can always come visit me. 😀 Now I’m curious though. What images do you fall to in spring? I don’t think I’ll have too much trouble convincing Mom as long as tree has a chance of surviving. If she agrees, I’m sure you’ll hear about it here.

          • Irene says:

            I’m not sure where you stay, Texas? If I come to US, I’ll let yer know. There isn’t really any seasons here in the tropics yer know.

            • Yousei Hime says:

              Irene,
              South Texas, on the coast–at least for now. No seasons . . . Rick Daddario has said the same (located in Hawaii). So the concept of season is different? Rainy/dry? Or are seasons even more subtle? If you come to the US, I’d love to get together. Of course, if I venture outside the US, I’ll try connecting with you as well. Very exciting just thinking about it. 🙂

            • Irene says:

              December/January monsoon, March/April thunderstorm, hot hot hot. The plane trip (20 hours) will kill me.

            • Yousei Hime says:

              Irene,
              You’ve got me laughing out loud and everyone’s looking askance. Perhaps we can meet in the middle some day. I’m plotting a future trip (oh, my grandiose plans and delusions).

  17. Makes a displaced Texan homesick! love the bluebonnets – wonderful poem – K

    • Yousei Hime says:

      K,
      Another Texan, yippee! Visit and read around. You’ll see bluebonnets periodically as well as other Texas references. Might make you more homesick of course, but then you can write about it. 😉 Thanks for reading and sharing.

  18. “we wade in spring–deep blossom waves of bluebonnets” –

    and gulf coast cities do almost always have waves, and the bluebonnet waves are among the best kind 😉

    nice work yousei 😉

  19. Rowan Taw says:

    Ah, but if you moved away to where cherry blossoms were plentiful, I bet you would long to see the bluebonnets in order to release the memories they hold of home!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rowan Taw,
      You are absolutely right. I think I’ll talk to my mother about planting a cherry tree on her property, just for me. Thanks for reading and sharing.

  20. Grace says:

    This is my favorite line: But for a time we wade in spring–deep blossom waves of bluebonnets.

    Spring has been very slow in my part of the world ~ Lovely sijo ~

  21. Well, you have me digging bluebonnets. What a spectacular unity between your sijo and photo. From them I get to experience the “deep blossom waves of bluebonnets.” Nice.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      eusebiaphilotes,
      I felt the picture necessary for those who’d never seen these flowers, to get a small sense of the experience as you suggested. They are quite the sight at their peak. Thank you for visiting, reading and sharing your thoughts on the writing.

  22. aprille says:

    Love the idea of your seaside version of DC’s cherry blossom trees.
    Truly a sea of blue as well. And the scent….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      aprille,
      You saw exactly what I was hoping to compare, the fields of bluebonnets to the showers of cherry blossoms. Both are stunning when at their peak, and you’re right–spring is as much about scent as sight. Thank you for visiting and reading.

  23. Oh, what a gorgeous poem you have written here. Humbled (and surprised) you chose my first attempt to share. I will be coming back to read more!

  24. brian miller says:

    and we get a bit of both…we have apple blossoms and bluebonnets in our yard….i rather like the rain of the blossoms as well…either way the colors of spring def bring revitalization….

    i did enjoy the form…smiles.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Lucky. Good for you on getting both. I think apple blossoms, a pretty flower, are often overlooked. They are in the small orchard in Michigan, so I remember them well. I liked the form too. 😀

  25. slpmartin says:

    Very interesting form…may have to give it a try. 🙂 Quite loved what you did with it..

  26. I love this, I have written haiku on both sakura and bluebonnets this month. But cherryblossom is so much sweeter… Love the colors and rhythm of this.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Björn Rudberg (brudberg),
      I suspect I’ll like cherry blossoms more, but since I’ve never seen them in person I can’t be 100% certain. I know they don’t last as long as bluebonnets, which makes them all the more dear. Still, being a native Texan, I know bluebonnets will always make me smile and long for home. Thank you for visiting and sharing. I’m looking forward to reading over at your site.

  27. Laurie Kolp says:

    This is lovely… especially “deep blossom wave of bluebonnets.”

  28. wolfsrosebud says:

    liking those blue bonnets… too bad spring can not linger longer… in Wisconsin it’s about 3 weeks late

    • Yousei Hime says:

      woflsrosebud,
      Having lived in Michigan for the last 25 years, I know of what you speak. My son was just whining about more snow yesterday. Enjoy spring when it arrives, and thank you for reading.

  29. heidi says:

    This is beautiful.

  30. claudia says:

    wading in spring sounds like a wonderful thing to do…love the blossom carpet…no cherry blossoms is kind of sad though…they’re in full bloom over here now and i just don’t get tired to look at them…and let them rain on me…smiles

    • Yousei Hime says:

      claudia,
      Sad indeed. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought of and longed for cherry blossoms this spring. I’ve never seen them as I wish to, that rain of petals you recalled. I am deeply jealous this year in particular. Of course, I can walk in an ocean of blue without getting my feet wet. Thank you for reading and sharing. Enjoy your sakura for me.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

