Prospecting Poesy Streams

Here pause: these graves are all too young as yet.
The mountains and rivers are destroyed,
the earth a little darker than sky at the horizon,
and all things flow out from that source.
For the world’s more full of weeping than you can understand,
and such, as yet once more I trust to have.

To be attached to things is illusion,
I know having seen God, but to wonder,
surprised by joy—impatient as the Wind–
their names, the wind of romance hard against it,
in a flower’s throat
can make a stone of the heart.

— you whom I’ve felt missing all this time
be the green grass above me
Answer, if you hear the words under the words.

Recursion Three: panning for gold — a cento for naming constellations

Lines from the following poems:
“Adonais” Percy Bysshe Shelley
“In the old days a poet once said” Ko Un
“Before” Carl Adamshick
“Rain” Don Paterson
“The Stolen Child” W. B. Yeats
“On His Deceased Wife” John Milton
“Stirred Up By Rain” Chase Twichell
“Arise, Go Down” Li-Young Lee
“Surprised By Joy” William Wordsworth
“I Can Afford Neither the Rain” Holly Iglesias
“Dear J.” Kazim Ali
“Easter 1916” W. B. Yeats
“Breaking Across Us Now” Katie Ford
Song [“When I am dead, my dearest”] Christina Rossetti
“The Words Under the Words” Naomi Shihab Nye

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Cento, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Prospecting Poesy Streams

  1. Geoff says:

    Fantastic … love the ways these come together 🙂

  2. brian miller says:

    somehow i missed this one…very cool weaving you did of the lines from other poems….that closing stanza…you be the green grass over me…love that bit…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      The end is my favorite part too. I think, if I remember correctly, that I built the rest of the poem around those lines and images. So glad you stopped in and shared it with me.

  3. Tino says:

    An amazing compilation of lines. Deep words that enters the spirit.

  4. The words under the words…beautiful. An illusion yet we feel impelled to attach to things. things lovely work.

  5. claudia says:

    ah it is illusion..and yet..we so easily attach to things…the words under the words…love the layers of this

  6. slpmartin says:

    Hmm…rather enjoyed the mining you did.

  7. margo roby says:

    filed, damn it, filed — at sixty, ones brain/eyes do a fun thing when typing. They hit the key next to the one you want.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      margo,
      Lol. At least it’s only typos. I’ve hit some bizarre key several times this morning which magically and aggravatingly erases the entire comment I’ve just typed. Good thing I have some self-control or the air would be an interesting shade of blue. Thanks for reading.

  8. margo roby says:

    LOVE the final stanza. It’s gorgeous.

    I have Joseph’s Recursions neatly files for some future time… I suggested to him he use them as the basis for a book. Then, I’ll get to them :-).

    • Yousei Hime says:

      margo,
      Final stanza is my favorite part too. 😀 I’ve got Recursions in their own email folder too. 😉 I feel the same way about Recursions (and reveries too). I really want to see them in book form. I suspect he’d do well with them. Can’t you see them in college creative writing courses across the country? High schools too? Are you listening Joseph?

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    Incredibly beautiful choices here–great lines, well=combined. k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      I think this is one of my better centos. I find it easy to choose lines, what is difficult is giving some up that just won’t flow together. Thanks for reading and sharing.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

