Belated Birthday Sonnet

Shall a rabbit’s love compare to poetry?
Full fast to borrow cupid’s wings, words roar
Into the tempest of sweet night; fools be
Who fling these darts while muses snore.

Yonder shines the dream, moon’s fairy night,
Where mischief, madness, sorrow bedeck his house.
With wit he leads them in love’s whimsy light;
Nought but ill the prattle of a long-eared mouse.

Puck of our fairy band, Will’s shadow lad,
Beside your poesy soliloquy nought shines.
To write beside the bard, to be king-mad,
This willow rabbit, sounds and sweet airs, pen-binds.

Avon words, a fantastical banquet seasoned with thyme,
give art to enchant, perchance to dream, to climb.

my sweet friends

my sweet friends (Photo credit: katmary)

If we shadows have offended,
Think but this, and all is mended,
That you have but slumbered here
While these visions did appear.
—Puck’s epilogue A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Follow that “merry wanderer of the night” to the imaginary garden with real toads

and more fairy foolishness at We Write Poems

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts, Sonnet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Belated Birthday Sonnet

  1. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Oh lovely what a beautiful poem
    i love your poems

  2. This is a glorious sonnet, filled with nuances of Shakespeare’s words. Your couplet was the perfect conclusion.

  3. HI…. I just finished reading your poem, “Belated Birthday Sonnet.” And I am speechless…… What an amzing talent you have! I must admit that after the first stanza I thought this might be a quote from Shelley or Keats I had not seen before, perhaps placed there as a prelude to your own poem. It slowly sunk in that this was yours! Wow…. ! Then I saw your quote from the Master, Shakespeare, and everything fell into place. You are a magnificent poet and I am so glad to have found you…….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      johnallenrichter,
      You sir, are a shameless flatterer, and I welcome you any time you deign to visit. You mentioned three of my favorite poets, thus I am quite delighted. Seriously, I am happy you enjoyed reading, appreciate your kind words, and look forward to your future visits.

  4. Puck of our fairy band… my son played Puck (and Bottom) and I named my horse “Oberon” (king of the fairies) Yes, this poem I read with pure joy.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      margaretbednar,
      I’m so happy my writing brought back those precious memories for you. I’d be over the moon if one of mine played in a Shakespeare play. I do have one child who adores the Bard. I can only hope. A horse named Oberon–how wonderful. I’m a darker shade of green. Thank you for sharing and reading.

  5. Irene says:

    (Squeals) I smell the blood of Shakespeare! A comedy inspired birthday sonnet, no less. I adore that picture.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Irene,
      😉 Blood indeed. The picture was one of those “Oh yes! That’s perfect!” choices in the WP offerings. Fit perfectly, didn’t it? Thanks for reading and squealing.

  6. julespaige says:

    Long eared mouse…Oh rabbit! Lovely verse. I’ve a few bunnies in over 30 years worth of collecting. I think The Bard would be pleased. Thank you for your visit and kind words.

    For another prompt I fear I may have roiled The Bard, but forsooth surely he so too loved humor:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2013/04/a-duck-out-of-water-miz-q-14-sonnet.html

    I don’t have this one in WP. But hopefully you’ll be able to enjoy it anyway. I know some folks have issues with leaving comments from WP to B, – but that’s were it is.

  7. brian miller says:

    ha. fun piece…midsummers is one of my fav shakespeare pieces….some fun lines in it as well…the fools and their darts was the first to jump out at me…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      You caught a couple of my other Shakespeare references. Great! I took time to use images and words/phrases from several of his plays. It was so fun trying to weave them in a sensible fashion. I love Midsummer too. Thank you for sharing and reading. 🙂

  8. slpmartin says:

    Ah…old William would indeed be proud of this birthday post.

  9. This was absolutely gorgeous. I think Puck — and Mr. Shakespeare — would be proud.

    -Nicole

  10. Susan says:

    Yes, you have totally amended your
    petty crime, with poetry and thyme for
    bouquet and art. So, clever Rabbit, hop
    into our Garden with Toads and tree tops
    where I’ll serve ice tea and salad tonight–
    I have not known Toads a rabbit to bite.

  11. ManicDdaily says:

    So very clever and faery like, Yousei–well done. k.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

