Footsoak in the Wellspring

Kōan

day after earth day
Wal-Mart discount plant

Got a plant for your office?
sliding shades of green,
older, brittle brown dry leaves

one diseased stem spouted a resilient last green stalk

Why bamboo?
small, black ceramic vase
bedded in pebble soil
bound and adorned
with fake yellow butterfly and white lotus

There are no windows.  Will it be okay?
extremes of water and no food
artificial light
perseverance–cool to touch
no smell, but wish
it smelled like green tea and cherry blossoms

just drooping, slender, graceful leaves
always turning higher

Does it mean something then?
green air in a windowless room
tactile path to cherry blossoms
taste of matcha
living haiku
escape into creativity
rabbit hole
beanstalk
to peace

Yes, me.

Following the Recursion series at naming constellations.

Bamboo In Office

Bamboo In Office (Photo credit: DCZwick)

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Footsoak in the Wellspring

  1. Geoff says:

    ‘…tactile path to cherry blossoms…’
    You brought a song to my heart 🙂

  2. The bamboo looks awesome!!

  3. aqua dragon fruit says:

    Wow, I love the ending! You really made my tongue race and my heart get excited over the possibilities for inspiration.

    These are my other favorites:

    “it smelled like green tea and cherry blossoms
    just drooping, slender, graceful leaves
    always turning higher”

    “small, black ceramic vase
    bedded in pebble soil
    bound and adorned
    with fake yellow butterfly and white lotus”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      aqua dragon fruit,
      I spent some time drafting this one. I’m still not totally satisfied with it. To be honest, I wanted to do the prompt, but didn’t really have an image/object that screamed at me to be the subject. So . . . I conscripted one. Poor bamboo. It still turned out better than it felt it would. I like the ending too. So happy you came by to read and write me smiles.

  4. Memories of walking through Walmart’s Garden Center, where I rescue a few plants from time to time, entered my mind. Nice poem.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      M. J. Joachim,
      When I move into my own place (which hopefully will be soon), I suspect there will be many more rescues. 😉 Thank you for sharing and reading my story.

  5. ayala says:

    We all need some inspiration 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      ayala,
      Inspiration, at least for writers, is as necessary as air and often more than food. Thank you for letting me share a bit of mine.

      • aqua dragon fruit says:

        Paintings always do it for me. And music … candles … fresh air. Mmmm. And being alone!

        • Yousei Hime says:

          aqua dragon fruit,
          I’ve got music going most of the time (that’s a must), no candles and no hope of fresh air. I do have one graphic of a hand stirring a cup of coffee or tea. It makes me thirsty. 😉

  6. purple says:

    So very nice to see something from you 🙂 This was such a joy to read.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      purple,
      It feels great to be back at writing. I always have this feeling (once things are going again) of “why on earth did I wait so long.” 😉 Thank you for reading and sharing.

  7. slpmartin says:

    Oh the question is not whether or not the plant will survive..but whether or not the person in the cubical will…enjoyed your poem.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Just so. Today is Admin Appreciation Day, and I was surprised by some lovely green and deep purple daisies. More earth in my day. 😉 Your visit and comment bring smiles too. Thank you for both.

  8. A little bit of inspiration in your day does make all the difference. We all need a bit of nature close to us! Very nice!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      pandamoniumcat,
      Definitely. There are a few days I don’t even get to look out a window, much less go outside. Those are the days I really appreciate my little plant. Thank you for reading and commenting. 🙂

  9. brian miller says:

    living haiku…smiles…nice…i think that little bit of life in an otherwise sterile room will make a difference even if just for other life that enters in seeing it….so maybe life does not feel so sterile, you know…

  10. Oooh, I love this! The sublime and the everyday, together in the lucky bamboo … from Wal-Mart. I know just how these small, living things can come to mean a lot. I really enjoyed this poem.

  11. ManicDdaily says:

    Great dialogue, great title. Such an interesting back and forth; poor plant, but much needed it seems. Love the stream of consciousness too towards the end. Thanks. k.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

