Ku on This #006-2013

blossoms midst palm branches
surprised
warmth in my hand

The Buzz About the Flowering Palm Tree

The Buzz About the Flowering Palm Tree (Photo credit: cobalt123)

for Ku on This: KOT#006-2013

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ku on This #006-2013

  1. first time I see flowering palm trees!
    beautiful lines, go so well with the photo.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      benedicte,
      Thank you and welcome to my blog. You should follow the link to Rick’s site to see the original art prompt–ah, I see you have. 😉 Thank you for your visit and comment.

  2. brian miller says:

    this is a treat…the blossoms and palms….the lovley and peaceful laying down together…or in this case standing up together…smiles..

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thank you. Couldn’t find time for anything new yesterday. I got my laptop repaired but haven’t tried it out yet. Probably this weekend. Happy Valentines Day to you and yours.

  3. aloha Poetic Rabbit. very cool. yeah, it’s a treat when palm trees blossom. each one blossoms in a slightly different way too. and some collect thick numbers of bees. a couple i have in front always does. and the scents are delicate too. yeah. it surprised me when i discovered this as well. fun. and a very cool response. aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      There were some bees the day I first noticed them. I didn’t get any hint of scent, but then, I’m not very tall and it is a bit windy here. 😉 I’ll see what I can do next season. Happy to share with you.

      • there are two different palms in the yard. one has a much stronger scent than the other. as I remember it. one up close is pleasant. the other is almost cloying, maybe a balance between heady and cloying. . . .

        still fun to watch. and walking by—wow. fun. aloha.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Rick,
          There are palms everywhere in Corpus Christi. I’ll try to get some pictures sometime. 😀

          • yeah, there are palms every where here too. I’d replace two of my palms with Samoan palms if I had enough space. I just don’t think the space is big enough so I’ll leave these for now.

            palms are cool. they are one of the few trees that cannot be used as bonsai (you cant make them grow small). thats why I draw them as bonsai sometimes—it’s fun to imagine them that way. enjoy your palm photography exploration. aloha.

  4. OOO the first line is so ripe with possibilities! Love this. YUM!

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    Really lovely – it’s like that when you see fruit on these trees too – so cool. k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      Yes, it’s just like that, except that I didn’t realize palm trees could flower. Silly, given they often have dates. Just not very observant growing up, I guess. 😉

  6. slpmartin says:

    Just lovely on this rainy SoCal day…what I needed…thanks!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

