For Ku On This: KOT# 005–2013 ~ Yellow Rose Vase

arrangement–
until single rose is just a stem

petals in the rain

for A 19 PLANETS ART BLOG 2010/2013

and  OpenLinkNight Week 81 at dVerse

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Interesting Blogs, Photo, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to For Ku On This: KOT# 005–2013 ~ Yellow Rose Vase

  1. Deborah says:

    I’ve used stems in many ways~ beautiful post! Thank you

  2. Luke Prater says:

    So do we keep the stem and see that as an object of beauty, or discard the stem and admire the arranged petals? I love how you throw it sideways so it almost argues on behalf of the stem. And in so few words.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Luke,
      I love the way you look at things. I say keep the stem. When I wrote it, I inevitably thought of personal stuff . . . so in answer to your question, I say see the stem as beauty and the petals as yesterday’s. Could we even look at a rose stem and not think of the rose that must have grown there? I don’t think I can. I end up with a ghost on the end of the stem, a sort of eternal beauty. Perhaps that’s a tiny bit of of the allure of mono no aware. Thank you for stopping in and stirring my thoughts.

  3. Amy says:

    ah… very nice

  4. HINES says:

    I’m super envious of how much flavor you pack into small bites; all without it feeling like an incomplete meal. I leave satisfied.
    NIcely done.

  5. ayala says:

    Short and yet so much said!

  6. brian miller says:

    there is something really evocative in this to me…stripping a rose down to its stem….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      An associative sadness at least, right? An step bereft of petals, perhaps the table/floor littered with them. Neglect of a floral arrangement to the point of death. Defeats the whole purpose of the preserving of that beauty. I’m rather delighted with all the meanings that drop from that image. 😉 Thanks for sharing yours.

  7. claudia says:

    wow..so much in just two lines…really nice..thinking of transformation…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      claudia,
      🙂 Thanks. It is much on my mind these days. Makes looking for metaphor rather focused. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on it. Enjoyed your poem very much (I usually do).

  8. ladynyo says:

    Inventive!

    Lady Nyo

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    Roses in the Snow? K.

  10. Dear Yousei, This is very beautiful. Thank you, Ellen

  11. beautiful. aloha Yousei Hime. i like this a lot. a terrific response (imo). coupled with your image—very wow. aloha

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

