More Charming Jewelry

Rampal trills moonlit
cherry petal notes
into exile drifting
I wonder
will you send my flute
over a ruined castle wall

past the cracked rock,
new fern coiled path,
each step . . . pure . . . heart . . . trust
small stones I cede
up to the dusk vined gate

where Taiheiyou bent low, waters
were spilled . . .  suffering across hand, impermanence from mouth
you emptiness –  trickle over stones to earth, rise to air
when at least, beside Tsushima Basin,
I am content with what I am

gray hair remembers
its maple leaf red
finger twined tilted
to how your breath tastes
but cannot recall you now

Bellingrath Gardens near Mobile, Alabama.

morning fire, this cotton gown caught,
a coy pool between my breasts
mid-day earthen words shore
cascades against silk waistband
until night winds ripple that deepest pond

what an odd structure, that half-moon bridge,
a path echoed in a passing river,
crimson by day, starless at night
I saw my fate
and never took either

simple cup of tea
heat the water — no dawn without her
scoop the matcha — her resolve pierces stone
pour the water — she is water
stir to foam — she is content with what she is

for naming constellations

and OpenLinkNight at dVerse

Moon Over the Desolate Castle

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to More Charming Jewelry

  1. Yousei Hime says:

    Just in case anyone is interested:

  2. Yes, thank you, I would love some tea.

  3. margo roby says:

    I’m joining the group, there is something about the final stanza, almost as if the speaker woke from the dream leading up to it and this is real. I love the photograph, the completeness of the half-moon bridge thanks to the water.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Margo,
      So happy you came by. Dream-like…that is the feeling I have when listening to the song I drew on for the first poemlet. I included a link to it in the comments (for the curious). I like that final stanza as well. I wonder if some of its charm comes from being different–you basically said that in your remark. I’m also curious to see if one structural element will garner comment. None so far, but I will continue watching. *rabbit on alert*

      Thank you for taking time to read again.

  4. such interesting variety of imagery and juxtapositions

    esp liked,

    “will you send my flute
    over a ruined castle wall

    past the cracked rock”

    thanks 😉

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Felipe Adan Lerma,
      Welcome and thank you. I appreciate your observations and am pleased that you found the writing interesting. You’re one of the first to comment on the first poemlet. Thank you for allowing me to share these with you.

  5. A lovely poem, I particularly love the closing stanzas such wonderful imagery throughout. Very nice.

  6. ladynyo says:

    I think this is one of your best.

    Lady Nyo…bowing to you.

  7. Kelvin S.M. says:

    …this has such a classic feel in which i always love to read and discuss about… thanks for the poem… smiles…

  8. blancaster99 says:

    Oh my! I like this new turn you seem to have taken. Is it only a matter of time and effort? Something else in your more recent postings seems to transcend your other work. Reaching for the sublime?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      blancaster99,
      I should reach that high more often, that’s what I’m thinking. In fact, the thought is more like “Why the hell did you wait this long to work this hard?” Glad you stopped in and read. I appreciate the observations (and sarcasm).

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    Wonderful stanzas here. My favorite is the close – I love the thought of matcha and the answering voice — and also the maple leaf red, grey hair – and also the pooling about the nightdress – very vivid and creative imagery. Great job. k.

  10. kelly says:

    i’m with brian, that ending is amazing… i am a big tea drinker, i will surely be thinking of those lines tomorrow morning as i prepare my first cup. this piece is filled with lovely imagery.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      kelly,
      Looks like the ending is a popular. I actually wondered about it, since it is different (to my mind) than the rest of the poems. Enjoy your tea, and I truly appreciate your visit and words.

  11. tashtoo says:

    Beautiful…almost hauntingly so..the dawning of the contentment, the tone and atmosphere, at peace with the here and now…despite the grey, what has slipped away…and love the image of the bridge, how cleverly it was worked into the piece as focal point…bravo!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      tashtoo,
      Welcome. I’m so happy you read and commented. This piece had more brain grease (as opposed to elbow) than usual, so I am very happy you came by to read and stamp it with approval. I look forward to more visits and especially comments.

  12. brian miller says:

    nice…love the repeptition of the contentment in this….and the closure is amazing…the almost liturgal reading in that last stanza…responsive reading…that is what i was looking for….really cool piece…solid imagery as well…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thanks. I’ve been dissatisfied with my writing (and lack of writing) lately. This piece took time and effort, and I think it shows. I remember responsive readings. I hadn’t thought of that when I wrote it, but I really like the concept. Thank you for your support and observations.

  13. jasmine calyx says:

    I don’t … I … cannot … speak.

    Seriously, I’m a puddle on the floor. You’ve melted me into a beverage. Got a straw?

    Be back later for more reads and a longer comment. I’m in awe, my dear.

  14. slpmartin says:

    Quite a lovey poem…such a delicate flow of words and thoughts.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

