Secrets of Parenting

Michelangelo-pieta

Michelangelo-pieta (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Not finished yet, but still,
I’m decoding the job for the next:

Songwriter–never underestimate
the power of music–
calming the storm mid-tempo
disciplining the surfacing beast, and
quieting the fatal doubts within.

Historian–proof of past events goes
beyond legacy–
bonds yearbook-entrenched and
uncredited values surfacing
as precautions against wintersong.

Conductor–contemplative batons,
masterful glissando from downbeat
to cut-off–
pacifying drummer riffs,
placating honoris causa keyboardist,
promoting cacophonous delirium, still
producing

not dissolution
but rosewood rarities
in time revealed,
vintage netsuke,
to carry
and bind
truths.

for Jasmine’s Jetsam at jasmine calyx

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Secrets of Parenting

  1. Parenting!
    Interesting choice of illustration–the Virgin Mother with her dead son. Is there something subliminal going on here, Poetic Rabbit? Hmm? Conductor, Historian, Songwriter—What’s next?
    Hi.
    Parenting = herding kittens

    • Yousei Hime says:

      47whitebuffalo,
      I’m no Virgin Mother, but I do think I’d like to be viewed kindly by my children and life and particularly when I’m gone. That probably has something to do with my choice of art picture (that and I love that sculpture … and of course she was a parent). Herding kittens … 😀 Where are your mittens? You naughty kittens, you shall have no pie.

  2. vbholmes says:

    Nice the way you define the definition of parenting–unique, personal approach.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      vbholmes,
      Welcome and thank you. We are such creatures of habit. I find it refreshing to look for a different perspective in viewing things that are so familiar, especially family. Thank you for taking time to read and comment.

  3. cloudfactor5 says:

    Really enjoyed the rhythm and excellent word associations, fantastic !!
    http://cloudfactor5.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/jasmines-jetsam-3/

  4. Yousei, you’re right. You’re never finished being a parent. The Pieta was touching, said a lot about sacrifice on both sides… Also, SO glad you were first at Jasmine’s challenge, and so glad I found it to take it up as well. Mine is also musical and includes my daughter! Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/01/17/family-affair-jazz-session/

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amy,
      The Pietà is my favorite piece of art. I couldn’t resist including it, especially since it speaks to parenting on a certain level (odd though that might be). Jasmine is a gem. I’m headed over to read your jazzy work. 🙂

  5. Marty Smith says:

    you say not finished, but a very lovely beginning ….. joyful imagery, and beautifully musical. is it a longer poem in your mind?

  6. brian miller says:

    nice….def really like how you pull all this together in that last stanza…and the flow of it is great…i like your approach through the roles as well….its creative and revealing in a bit different way, i like it…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thank you for the comment. It sounds like you caught a lot of what I intended in the form, flow, and imagery. That’s always gratifying. I’m trying to put more thought into what writing I do these days, instead of hurrying just to write something. I’m always happen to have you visit.

  7. jasmine calyx says:

    Not finished? It’s fantastic! I was going to say the second stanza was my favorite. But then I read the third … and the fourth … and so on. It just got better and better with every new stanza. You’ve shared a lot of wisdom here.

    This was so me in high school:
    “bonds yearbook-entrenched and
    uncredited values surfacing
    as precautions against wintersong”

  8. slpmartin says:

    I quite like the way you’ve approached the poem.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

