Reverie

AM radio

AM radio (Photo credit: Arlette)

turn back a dial
melted blue
listen to retro love
doubt bare
dragged suffocating
into a gang of regrets
hesitate like lizards tarred with criticism
patches of hope
cracked pale
out of that pseudo prison
those notes project scars
against conscience’s dark walls
echoes pool at the foot of tomorrow

Other offerings using the same word list at jasmine calyx

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Reverie

  1. lesliepaints says:

    You carried me back and brought me to now again in those few lines. I love this. Partially because of the photo prompt you offered which looks like a radio my Grandmother listened to. I am writing this down to re-read from my refrig. I like that last line that brought me to present day, “echoes pool at the foot of tomorrow”. Poems are so much like gifts.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      Thank you. I like the gifts writing gives too. Even when the whole thing doesn’t make sense, we can still find gems to take with us. The radio picture was perfect, right? So cute. Enjoy reading it again. I’m flattered to have it posted on the fridge. 🙂

  2. I can’t decide which lines I like the most –“listen to retro love” or “hesitate like lizards tarred with criticism”! Great poem, Yousei.

  3. Nicely written/use of words–conjures up memories of my first kiss! Johnny Mathis “Wonderful, Wonderful!”

  4. jasmine calyx says:

    I love the visual presentation. I haven’t read a word, other than the title, and it has already hooked me. Such wonderful balance.

    Oh man, I love what you did here:
    “listen to retro love
    doubt bare
    dragged suffocating
    into a gang of regrets”

    “Listening” to a relationship in reverse, going back over everything that happened, micro-analyzing every word and every moment, doubting yourself, doubting him, dragging yourself into a room without enough oxygen (causing you to hyperventilate and fall over, dizzy) where a gang of bullies (your thoughts) waits to beat the crap out of you for everything you did wrong to mess up the relationship. Geez, spot on girl. You are awesome. I love how “retro love” sounds kind of fun and nostalgic. But it’s an illusion. This is a horror story that you’re describing. It’s just disguised by fun language.

    “those notes projects scars
    against conscience’s dark walls”

    Great double meaning in “notes,” both musical and written. (I think you mean “project” though.)

    Excellent. It’s great to see you, girl. I hope you’re doing well, despite the content of the poem. I know it’s been a really rough time, especially the holidays. But I know you’re having fun too. Love you, sweetie.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      jasmine calyx,
      I was waiting for your appearance. You got it, every bit and then some. (I’ll make that change to “projects.”) Things are better and a tiny bit more real. Terrifying and yet liberating. Like going off to college, but only after a time of suffering. Anyway . . . I hope to write much, much more. Thanks for the list, analysis (always) and sweet friendship. Thought about you while out on the Riverwalk. 🙂

  5. marty smith says:

    echoes pool at the foot of tomorrow……..
    it certainly brings focus to the past in my eyes………bravo!
    and happy new year to you

  6. Lady Nyo says:

    such beauty but such pain.

    Lady Nyo

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lady Nyo,
      It was a difficult year, yet a time of growth and healing. Just like those amazing dishes one finds that you would never expect to taste good, this past year ended gratefully with satisfaction. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  7. ManicDdaily says:

    Pooling at the foot of tomorrow with a gang of regrets feels like a place I might melt into~ Very interesting. Hope I’m not taking the wrong way. Take care! k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      I don’t think there is a wrong way to take it. I had an idea in mind to focus the writing, but everyone brings there own ingredients to the poem. Thank you for reading and commenting. 🙂

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

