A Little Frost

Without much time, but still wanting to keep a momentum, I’ve chosen to share a Frost poem that is so beautiful and full of sound, memory, and longing. Thank you all, who’ve encouraged me to write. I’ll have something new of my own here very soon.
Reluctance

English: Old Oak in Snow

English: Old Oak in Snow (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Out through the fields and the woods
And over the walls I have wended;
I have climbed the hills of view
And looked at the world, and descended;
I have come by the highway home,
And lo, it is ended.

The leaves are all dead on the ground,
Save those that the oak is keeping
To ravel them one by one
And let them go scraping and creeping
Out over the crusted snow,
When others are sleeping.

And the dead leaves lie huddled and still,
No longer blown hither and thither;
The last lone aster is gone;
The flowers of the witch hazel wither;
The heart is still aching to seek,
But the feet question ‘Whither?’

Ah, when to the heart of man
Was it ever less than a treason
To go with the drift of things,
To yield with a grace to reason,
And bow and accept the end
Of a love or a season?

 

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Favorites By Others, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Little Frost

  1. Write! Write! What? Does the rabbit need fresh carrots?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      47whitebuffalo,
      😀 I chuckled at that one. I’m still working on the carrot I got. I’m working on an older prompt from naming constellations. It’s more difficult than it should be, probably because my mind is pulled in too many directions. I promise something new before the week is over. 🙂 *happy rabbit dance*

  2. lesliepaints says:

    What I like most about the poetry of Robert Frost is that I could always understand them on some level. When I was younger I understood them. Now, older, I can understand them. Though my circumstances have changed and I “feel” him talking about something anew, I realised he could communicate to all ages and all levels of understanding. What a gift!!!!!! Thank you for posting this, Yousei.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I agree with you completely. I think that’s what makes him such an amazing writer. We can understand him at many different phases in life, and understand new things as we grow. In some ways, his writing reminds me of those beautiful, clear, small ponds. They are quiet and less imposing that greater bodies of water, but so clear and calm. They still reflect all around them (better than the ocean which is only close the word at its shores) and yet they also have a wonderful unexpected depth. Thank you for coming by and sharing with me.

  3. Raven says:

    I love his work … I met him when I was 14 or so.

  4. Frost was one of the first poets I got introduced to as a child and I love him 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      justanotherwakeupcall,
      I know I read Frost as a youngester as well, but I didn’t really appreciate him until college. Our choir sang a setting of his “The Road Not Taken,” and I woke to the wonder of his words. I’ve been listening to his voice ever since. Glad I could share a bit with you.

  5. blancaster99 says:

    Though I seldom step outside those first (and still-loved) poems to which I was introduced in the earliest college classes, I’m always amazed by the quality of his work. So much of it is analogous to life and death (among other things) on top of the sheer beauty and flow of the words. Thanks for the reminder that it may be time to pull out the Frost collection again.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      blancaster99,
      I feel the same way. Published or not, if I could write that naturally, smoothly, beautifully … well, happy and content aren’t good enough to describe it. Happy reading.

  6. Dear Yousei, Beautiful. I read Robert Frost to my mother during her last illness. She often spoke of his natural gift with form. Blessings, Ellen

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Ellen,
      I’ve long admired his writing. It always felt so natural, even when it rhymed. Thank you for sharing your own personal connection with Frost. Best of the season to you.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

