September: 9 of 30 Days of Haiga

Yesterday I had planned to drive out and take a picture of the night sky. It turned out to be one of the rare overcast nights. That gave me a chance to try out more art. Today I’d thought to take pictures on my evening walk. Unfortunately my nephew’s husky needed a walk (his picture–the husky in this case–is beside “hyper” in the dictionary). So . . . another artistic endeavor. Be sure and visit Rick’s Daddario’s Art Blog for more haiga (with more adept art).

20120909-205919.jpg

passion fruit flower sunset cicada song

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to September: 9 of 30 Days of Haiga

  1. The month is going to be over before I ever even try to write one. 🙂

    I love the purple background with the blue lightning streaks, pink cotton candy, and grumbly grey volcano at the bottom. From a previous poem, I do believe I identified you as being the cicada. So I’m assuming here you are also the cicada, transcending the physical circumstances of your own personal world to sing to the heavens and soak up the majesty of nature.

    I think your haiku well expresses a person’s life cycle: passion produces fruit and flower—that is what we spend the first half of our life doing. Then we see the sunset coming, grapple with our feelings about that, consider our choices (past, present, future), and continue stepping forward into the dying light … singing our song still (with a bit of a different perspective and realization that passion cannot always drive our lives; at some point, our song is tempered and we sing a softer tune accepting peace in lieu of passion).

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,

      Someone once told me that every part of a dream represents the dreamer. I wonder if the same is true, in some way, of the writer? I always love reading what you see in my writing, sometimes I’m surprised (but always pleased) by the things you find. Though my writing is usually rooted in the personal, you saw even more in this than I’d intended. Me likes. 🙂

  2. ManicDdaily says:

    These are all lovely. k.

  3. Pingback: Peach flower « A Walk In My Heart

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

