September: 7 of 30 Days of Haiga

Today’s prompt for Rick Daddario’s 30 Days of Haiga is Grandmother Memories. One word from Shawna’s Prompt Words list sparked the whole thing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

20120907-191816.jpg
old fashioned
nothing allowed
on her Bible
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Related articles
About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to September: 7 of 30 Days of Haiga

  1. yelena says:

    i so enjoy reading your works for days of haiga..very vivid and memorable, you are truly the master of the word~~

    • Yousei Hime says:

      yelena,
      Thank you very much. I appreciate your visit and your kind words. I hope that you’ll come by and read again. I’ve visited your site as well, and I found it lovely and the writing even lovelier.

  2. Mama Zen says:

    That is really pretty!

  3. oh. awesome haiga Yousei Hime (imo). wow. i really like where the Grandmother prompts have gone and this one is a gem.

    i like the aged treatment of the image too. i may be recognizing that from some similar app treatments for photographs that i have – so i suspect that is what it is – altho it could be done with other image editing programs too.

    yeah too – i like the image – i like the way my iPad images turn out sometimes more than the higher resolution of my digital camera. this image has an aged and timeless yet dated look to it especially with the subject. the image itself is ideal with the haiku.

    ….hmmmm… do i need to say i like this again? ha. yeah. i do like it. way cool. now i want to be playing this way again more too. bwahahahhaha. cool and fun. aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      😀 Yes, the iPad is definitely fun. I really like how the picture turned out too. It made it easy to emphasize the “old-fashioned” theme. I’d thought about doing a Bible on a nightstand, but I couldn’t find one that looked as old and worn as I wanted. China works just as well and adds a different symbolic layer.

      Looking forward to more fun with you and everyone else participating. 🙂

      • cool and fun on, Poetic Rabbit. one of the tenets (as i understand it) of haiga is that the haiku should not simply describe what the viewer can see in the image with their own eyes (this makes sense because it is not needed of course). and the image should not simply be an illustration of the haiku (this makes sense because an illustration is not needed for a haiku – which should have strong imagery embedded in the words already) both image and haiku should be able to stand alone and have meaning without depending on the other for an explanation. rather they should be connected in another way – one in which the viewer/reader has to engage and seek out the connections, exploring the possibilities and there by coming to new insight – and of course that “ah-ha” moment. hmmm… maybe even multiple ah-ha moments??

        with this in mind it’s true a worn bible might still have worked. however i think the image you used works way well and adds so much more than the bible might have because it goes way beyond the more direct connection the bible would have given. yeah. this is one of the reasons i like this – the image plus the haiku take the work way beyond what either might do on their own and yet each on it’s own would work elegantly as a stand-alone work too.

        yeah. way fun. aloha.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Rick,
          I appreciate what you’ve said. I see we agree on the connection between the writing and art. As for this particular haiga, I think it is my favorite so far. I’m glad I couldn’t find the right Bible, though my sister told me later that she did have one. It is my father’s, which she keeps in his old desk, now her work desk. There should be something there for later, neh? 🙂

  4. Hmmmm, “on” seems like it should be “in.” I picture her not wanting to write or highlight inside the book. And also, if it were “in,” the middle line would mean two things:

    (She’s) old-fashioned (so) nothing (is) allowed.
    Nothing (is) allowed in her Bible. — 1) Everything is prohibited by her Bible, and 2) no extra writing is allowed inside.

    Out of context, I like the phrase “old-fashioned nothing” … So whatever this might mean, it IS allowed on her Bible. Perhaps it’s dust. (Certainly not YOUR grandmother, I know. I’m just making up stories.)

    My brain also wants to read “on her Bible” in a sassy voice as some southern family expression which means “on her watch.” So when she and her Bible are in charge, no trouble (or fun) is allowed. 🙂

    Also, her Bible might be old, worn, and delicate. So you might get in trouble for setting a drink on top of it.

    I could also read it this way, as a person reflects upon her ending life …
    “old,
    (having) fashioned nothing (in life),
    allowed (to move) on(ward anyway)—
    (the promise of) her Bible”

    Have I mentioned that I love your work? 🙂 The tinier, the better!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      “On” never occurred to me, probably because my child-self focused on her fussing at me stacking anything on a Bible. She was particular about, what seemed to me, the strangest things–like not buying a dog. Isn’t it amazing how changing one word can alter an entire piece? (of course, one word in haiku is pretty potent)

      As always, I love reading your thoughts on a writing (even posts other than my own). Thank you so much for prompting me, in all the lovely ways you do.

  5. slpmartin says:

    Oh those lines reminded me of my grand mother…very fine work.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      “Not to put anything on top of a Bible” was something my grandmother was very particular about. We have good roots. Thank you for stopping in and leaving a smile.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

