September: 5 and 6 of 30 Days of Haiga

Today is my last catch-up day for Rick Daddario’s 30 Days of Haiga. It covers September 5–Late in the Day and September 6–A Sail. Once more I’ve tried to include two more words from Shawna’s Prompt Words list at flipside records.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

20120906-220612.jpg

cicada vespers
shelf for cap and tassels
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~20120906-220625.jpg

a sail from a distance
slip knot promise
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Related articles
About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to September: 5 and 6 of 30 Days of Haiga

  1. blancaster99 says:

    I love the cicada vespers line. It reminds me of something I read long ago about the trees reaching up to God. Beautiful stuff.

  2. aloha Poetic Rabbit. yeah – cicada vespers and slip knot promise both stand out for me. i’m delighted that you are working with this kind of image creation. i had intended to do more of that this September – photos in a way are easier or maybe quicker for me for now. you plunging into digital drawing and painting is exciting. i like that.

    i also read the previous comments and agree with posting the ku as words that stand alone from the haiga. we shouldnt need that, however because of the way people are able to see our work around the planet – on all sizes of screen and quality of monitors and equipment – i’ve opted to include the words standing alone for ease on eyes. ideally i try to make my haiga so that it will work well and the words will be clear when it is actually printed to the size i intend the haiga to be. …that doesnt always translate well to our digital displays. at least that is my thinking on the issue.

    fun. i see a map that allows me a choice in the sail of a distance over the water – cool on that. altho i can also see them as rigging lines that have come loose – perhaps from that slip knot promise… aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      Really enjoying participating. I like the “hand done” as well as photo. I opted for photo today, since Friday’s are just like that. I like your readings of the haiga. What do you call an interpretation of art? For poetry its explication or interpretation, etc. Like to get my terms right. 😉

      Keep coming back and encouraging me. I’m loving your posts as well, but it’s hard to keep up with reading, writing, art, commenting, and work. Let’s not talk about weight loss. -_-

      • ha. and you think you’re behind?? i havnt managed to get to haiga on the Mr. Linky button for almost a full week now. let alone keeping up with the comments on the blog.

        yeah. photos take less time for me. sometimes. ha. then i work all night on a photo can cant get it the way i want it. sheesh.

        i’m not sure there is a specific word for how a person sees an artwork. interpret works. sometimes we might speak of what it “means” to us. i’ve never heard the word explication in connection to art that i know of. i had a friend who said that and i thought it was a made up word. bwahahahahahahaha.

        weight loss? if i loose weight i’m not going to go looking for it. yet.

        yeah. keep doing these. it’s healthier that way. sanity counts but not significantly relative to happy. be having fun. aloha.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Rick,
          I chuckled all the way through this comment. Poor Rick. You’re doing well creating your own haiga with the posts and keeping up with the prompts. I wouldn’t worry about jumping in on Mr. Linky too. Thanks again for all the encouragement. I’ve really enjoyed things and felt less stressed to keep up than I usually do. I’m even happier with my writing overall. I will confess to dreading the cows. 😉

  3. Can you include the typed text in the body of your post as well? I always find that helpful. There has been more than one time when I’ve misread a word. Here, I read “can and tassels” at first. 🙂

    I have to pick up my daughter from school and then take two of the girls to the doctor. So I will comment more later. But first off, I see a mother praying for her son who’s graduated and moved into adulthood.

    Also, the double meaning in “slip knot” jumps out at me. I love these. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      Additions done. I should have thought of that to begin with, sorry. Fonts can be tricky to read, even enlarged ones. Happy you like how I put your words to work. Travel safely.

      • I love your matchy matchy borders, vertical on top and horizontal on bottom. Great way to connect the two but still distinguish. Like two people who come together but still remain separate and unique.

        I love your second sketch. Gorgeous in its simplicity. I love that the two birds are checkmarks of approval, even thought the shore has two cracks (they look like lines on a palm waiting to be read). There is brokenness here, but it is accepted and loved anyway.

        A slip knot is binding but flexible. What I see here, taking the two pieces together, is that the children have left (or are getting older and moving on with their own lives) and the parents are trying to find their way as a couple rather than just parents. So a “slip knot” is essential in feeling their way through the adjustment. Also, sometimes to get a new perspective and to hold things together, you have to go from vertical to horizontal and look at things in a completely different way. I think there is great hope here because of the checkmark birds and because these two people (although distant) are still sailing (toward each other). It may be a rough ride, but I think it will work out.

        Anywhere near what you were thinking? 🙂

  4. ManicDdaily says:

    These are lovely – I especially like the slip knot of promise. A very evocative image that also has a great sound. k .

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      Morning. 🙂 Glad you like them. My drawing skills are rusty, and with a tablet they border on beginners. I’m looking forward on improving the art along with the writing. I rather like that slip knot image as well. Thank you for sharing.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

