September: 3 and 4 of 30 Days of Haiga

Tomorrow I should be caught up with Rick’s 30 Days of Haiga, and after that it will be one haiga a day.  Today covers September 3–Labor to Rest and September 4–The New Language.  I’ve also included two more words from Shawna’s Prompt Words list at flipside records.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

infallible ants firm steps toward sunset

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

surprise email pink cyclamen expressions

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Photo, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to September: 3 and 4 of 30 Days of Haiga

  1. Moonie says:

    Yousei I appreciate your depth of meaning in your writing
    there is beauty with a sadness in the background in these
    I looked up the symbolism for the cyclamen
    thanks for sharing the behind the scenes of your work

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Moonie,
      So glad you stopped in. One of the very best things about poetry is that a poem is unique to every person who reads it. We bring … oh, half … the meaning with us when we read. Of course the writer has something in mind when they write. I often fail to fully communicate that, but that doesn’t mean the poem itself fails. I’m happy to share my writing with you, and to let you in on the background. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I treasure them.

  2. aloha Yousei Hime – oh. great New Language use – email. i had attempted something with “grok” in it. …that didnt work for me in time tho. i like thinking about what a surprise email might be like. . . heck – i like the idea of “surprise email” because it is a cool combination of words and ways of expressing too. i think it takes a step toward the Griffin and Sabine books of correspondence. and i like that a lot.

    i like that image too. did you do that on an app? it has a feel of being special to me.

    i like cemeteries too – they are often beautiful quiet places to wander and wonder – and another place to gain perspectives on life – as your infallible ants seem to be doing.. .

    very cool. and thank you for playing and linking up too. aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      We’re most likely to get emails these days. I had a surprise one a few weeks ago, so once I remembered it, it was fixed into the poem. Yes, I used a phone app. I did use a photo reference for the flowers. I’d like to use an iPad next. I messed around with one last night…it will make details much easier than the phone. They still won’t be any Daddario’s. 😉

      • yeah. one of the people in my art area of the blog roll was doing some great things on a phone app. that is what got me excited about an iPad. so when i got the iPad i was having a lot of fun. then Benedicte – the person with the phone apps got an iPad and it was a leap in what she could do. i’m sure that will happen to you too. – i dont think i could even do what you’ve done on a phone.

        they’ve come out with a Retina display iPad now that has to be amazing. i dont know if i want to even try it because i’ll then want one i’m sure. (and i have to get a new computer – this one… i’m not sure if it will make it through September). so yeah, if you can do that on a phone i know you’ll have fun on an iPad.

        oh. you’d never want to do it the way i do it. i mean… do it your way. i’ll never be able to do it your way and that is what will keep us both in amazement. when you see something i do that you like, give it a try. if you’re not sure how it was done – just ask.

        yeah. surprise emails. i can see where i’d like those. i like that you “fixed it into the poetic form” – it is a great fit.

        fun on. and thank you again for playing in the 30 days of haiga – aloha.

      • You two are making me want to try this. It will be very crude, though. Crude as in beginner’s work, not crude in the other sense. 🙂

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Shawna,
          😀 Rick has a gentle way of luring one in. Don’t worry about crude. I feel that way about almost everything I write, especially haiku. So far to go … at least to me. Looking forward to seeing what you do.

        • bwahahaha. aloha and cool flipside records.

          this month – you get to do it any way you want to do it. crude is fine. i mean. not in the other sense. i mean, just splat your image and plop your haiku. there are lots of considerations that can be found around the process of doing this – however i find a good way is to just start and then figure it out later after you’ve done 19 or 19 dozen or so…

          then you can tell me you’ve done one and havnt posted it. i keep doing that with your prompt word lists. i have the poetry for Marks Birthday. not the image yet tho. sheesh.

          and as for haiku – there are so many rules, theories and guide thoughts that some are the exact opposite of others. and the cool part is you get to choose which of these you think are important and want to follow. and after that, you get to make up your own rules.

          …however if you’d like a place to do some reading on haiku and related forms you can start at Ah-Ha Poetry:

          http://www.ahapoetry.com/

  3. love them both, but specially the first one! (may have something to do with the fact that the word ‘golamen’ is new to me:) flipside records comment explained it though! I too love the backgrounds.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      sapna,
      So glad you liked them. I apologize though. I think the word you were wondering about is “cyclamen.” It is a flowering plant. I’m sorry the font was confusing. I wondered about how readable it would be when I chose it. Thank you for commenting and sharing.

  4. Your backgrounds are beautiful! At first, I misread the first one as “infallible ants firm-step toward sunset,” which was very cool. As is the actual wording. 🙂 I love the way your haiku/haiga can change meaning when imagining commas/dashes in different places.

    infallible ants—firm steps toward sunset
    infallible ants firm—steps toward sunset
    infallible—ants, firm steps, toward sunset
    infallible ants firm steps toward sunset (with “firm” being the verb and “steps” being the noun)

    This is obviously about dying. Even the infallible have limited time. And this man walked bravely toward his sunset, having stepped hard while he lived. A beautiful tribute to your father, I presume.

    The second one is very sweet. 🙂 Someone got an e-mail that made her blush! I love this definition of the flowers: “having nodding white, pink, or red flowers, with reflexed petals” … As if there was a question in the e-mail, to which you replied with an enthusiastic and reflexive nodding “yes.”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      I always enjoy your readings. That flexibility in how a haiku is read, I love that too. I didn’t really have my father in mind, but having just spent the day before thinking about him, I’m certain that first one is influenced by him. Did you look up the meaning/symbolism for cyclamen? I suspected there would be readings similar to yours. Look it up then tell me what you think. 😉

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

