September: 1 and 2 of 30 Days of Haiga

Rick Daddario, of A 19 PLANETS ART BLOG 2010/2012, began his 30 Days of Haiga challenge September 1st.  I was visiting my mother, and she has no internet.  So I’m playing catch-up without regret, for the food and company were wonderful and restful. Rick offers prompts for each day in September.   Today I’m covering September 1–Random and/or Without and September 2–Father Memories.  My muse and loving poetic motivator, Shawna, will find a few of the words from her recent list at flipside records sprinkled in this week’s haiga.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Photo, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to September: 1 and 2 of 30 Days of Haiga

  1. Pingback: September: 9 of 30 Days of Haiga | Shiteki Na Usagi

  2. Pingback: Thrown Wishes « Haiga 365

  3. ayala says:

    Great work! 🙂

  4. Archna says:

    Hi there! These are both lovely. I think that the first one is harsh as we know how much weather effects crops and in a farmer’s world this can be very difficult. The second one is very touching, for me, the memory of this loved one is becoming more and more faint, harder to hold onto. Very sad. Thank you for sharing these and thanks so much for your visit. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Archna,
      Welcome and thank you for reading and commenting. I’m glad you like them both. The heat here has indeed been brutal, but the fields which grow are now empty. That makes them seem even more barren. The second…well, you can’t write about someone special without being a bit sentimental. Thank you for sharing with me.

  5. Fergiemoto says:

    I especially like the artwork in your second image.
    My mother also does not have internet, but it is refresing to get away from technology once in a while and just enjoy the time and great company.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Fergiemoto,
      Thank you. I agree about breaking those technology connections at times. I find I’m more than ready to “plug in” when I get back though. An obsession among my many, I guess. 😉 I thoroughly enjoyed my visit, extra pounds to prove it.

  6. sanjuktaa says:

    the 2nd one works for me, Yousei…beautiful!

  7. aloha Yousei Hime – outstanding. both of these. i like the relentlessness of sky and fields – i remember days like this.

    and yeah, wow on old man river. i grew up on a river too (the confluence of two of them) – so yeah, memories entangled and way awesomeness as well. i miss rivers. hawaii does not have a real sense of rivers the way i know them including the Snake River and the Missassippi (dad lived on one, mom on the other) altho there is a small river on Kauai.

    just to encourage you – and because i’d really like others to see what you do – if you havnt added this post to my Mister Linky button(s) – which starting today now work fresh each day thanks to Shawna – i hope you will do so. i am behind on getting around to the links – but now that i have the system functioning i think i will be able to do that a little more often and hope to catch up… i know you know what that is like – cool on your mom visit btw.

    i know you know how to use the “Mister Linky” button at the bottom of each page. so just look for the day number that is in the title of my post (the actual post date wont match up because being an all planet event i’m posting ahead for people who start their day 24 hours before i start the same day – being in Hawaii it works that way). the links will start fresh for each day now so just go by the title numbers of my posts – the titles will start out like this:

    September: 5 of 30 Days of Haiga (for day 5)
    September: 6 of 30 Days of Haiga (for day 6)
    September: 7 of 30 Days of Haiga (for day 7)
    etc.

    that September: # (number) will correspond to the day you post your haiga. the first few days are all on one Link so not to worry where you place a double effort like this one. – of course not to worry about that any time – the idea is just to allow people to explore the wide range of haiga and people creating haiga of course.

    way cool on your combining flipside records’ prompt word lists too – way fun and aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      Happy to be taking part. I’ll try to link up properly. I’m not sure when I’ll get today’s done, but I’m brewing it as the day goes. It’ll be overdone or spectacular. 😉 Thanks for the inspiration and prompts … and the smiles.

      • bwahahaha – mine have been underdone or spectacular (imo). well. maybe semi-spectacular and underdone occasionally too.

        skip ahead a day. then you’ll be on a cycle where you have a day lead.

        i’ve found that by looking at “the next few Days of Haiga Prompts” i can start thinking about ku and image choice as i take breaks. that way i can build the haiga a little at a time in my mind. when it comes time to create the haiga all-in-one it’s more a matter of putting the pieces together that i already have lined up in my skull. of course i tweak that as i go too. sometimes, like today, i end up with two different haiga.

        mahalo for taking part. it helps me (i suspect it works this way for others too) when i look at what others are doing. sometimes i realize where i missed the boat in my own work that way – yikes. ha. then i get to try all over again the next day. stay on the fun part. and good autumning to you. aloha.

  8. ManicDdaily says:

    Agreed – they are both wonderful – I think the second is probably more memorable for me because of the evocation of the song, and the universality of the sentiments. k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      I love how the song title is so flexible in meaning. Those that don’t know the song, will bring their own understanding. I’d love to hear some of those interpretations. Since it was one of my father’s favorites, my ideas are tightly framed around him. If it works apart from that, all the better. Thank you for reading and sharing.

  9. The first one makes me laugh. Try as I might, I cannot change the fact that the word “cotton” always makes me think of underwear. So in your poem, someone is “cottonless” in a field under a relentless sky. 😉

    I love that in your second, the word “man” is encircled by a red sun … almost removing it from the poem. So what you are left with is “old river entangled in memories.” I see this as an equation that can be arranged in various ways:

    man = old river + entangled memories
    old = river entangle(ments) + memories
    river = entangled memories + man
    memories = old man + river, entangled

    You see what I mean? 🙂 Silly, I am. But this is what bubbles for me.

  10. Really, really, really loving the last picture.

    It’s like Basho and Mark Twain had a literary baby.

  11. tashtoo says:

    Fantastic on both counts! The first takes home the prize for me though…LOVED!

  12. brian miller says:

    oo i like them both but that second one..the river carries many a memory for me…so i feel that one for real….like there…great pairing with the pics too…

  13. leahJlynn says:

    did you take the pictures, they are nice with good captions.

  14. Find fusion of words and image

  15. Claudia says:

    the cottonless fields make me feel all melancholic somehow…very nicely penned…never heard about haiga before…way cool

  16. slpmartin says:

    Perfect way to start my week…fine poem.

  17. Ooh, I love the “old man” haiga, Tawnya. Beautiful!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

