A Reblog on Writing

I’ve been thinking about this very subject lately. Since I’m preparing for surgery (gall bladder–a step up from knee surgery and three down from caesarean section) this week, I’ve let my friend’s thoughts fill this space. Be sure and share your thoughts on the matter at his site.  I know he’d love the company and discussion.

Blanc Spaces Filled

In 2005, while working on a novel, I, like Steinbeck, journaled about the process; this piece is derived and inspired by that entry. Also, I must say that for years I have, with consistent huffs of disgust and quite sufficient tirades, rejected off hand any piece of writing the begins “It was,” “Those were,” “This is,” and the like. That being said:

It is an effort for me to keep in check my Editor Self while allowing my Writer Self the freedom needed to put pen to page (or fingers to keyboard) in a manner worthy of the pleasure derived from a completed product. My Organizational Self argues to stick with the outline of the next five chapters as he has spent hours charting the nuances of characterization and conflict eagerly awaiting the unsuspecting protagonists—for reference see the “Little did he know” scene in the movie Stranger Than Fiction

View original post 365 more words

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Reblog on Writing

  1. Marty Smith says:

    try to stay out of hospitals after this…
    hope you have a good recovery

  2. sanjuktaa says:

    Hi Yousei, hope everything goes well and have a fast recovery and be back soon! Will be missing you in the interim, but, well, surgery is more important. Take care!

  3. A Walk In My Heart says:

    Hope that everything will go smoothly for your surgery and a quick recovery. See you soon, Yousei.

  4. brian miller says:

    best wishes on the surgery this week…hope all goes well…

  5. aloha Yousei Hime – cool blog reblog. just a note to do some well-wishing on your surgery. i had the knee surgery stuff a long time ago. get in. get done. and get out. well wishing on you. aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick
      Welcome back. I’ve missed seeing you and visiting you. Your plan sounds good to me. I had knee surgery too a few years ago, and I hope this one goes just as smoothly. I’ll update my blog as soon as I’m able after the surgery. Thanks for the well-wishes.

  6. Dear Yousei, May all go very well this week and then during your recovery. I’ll visit your friend too. Love, Ellen

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

