An American Sentence

Rare supermoon rising over lake in Central Flo...

Rare supermoon rising over lake in Central Florida. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Glorious moon,  drizzle conceals my sweet muse.

Write an American Sentence for liv2write2day’s blog

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in American sentence, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to An American Sentence

  1. I caught a glimpse of it, and honestly, it didn’t look so super to me. But then, moonrise is usually blocked by buildings in the downtown area… wish I had seen something like this, too. The pink eclipse was the best lunar event I’ve seen lately, and that cost me three weeks of walking pneumonia. :P

    Also, the poem is most enjoyable! You move seamlessly through three different feels.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph! I’m so happy you came by. I know from reading your posts you’ve been busy, busy, busy. I’m not certain moon gazing, no matter how spectacular, is worth walking pneumonia. It might be though. We’re more attached to her than we realize, I believe. Bonus! Not only do you visit, but you liked the writing as well. I’ve been struggling with writing satisfaction too. May we both grow and find inspiration to grow even further. :)

  2. Fergiemoto says:

    Great match of words and photo! I think that’s the most vibrant moon I’ve seen.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Fergiemoto,
      I like your post even better. At least you really took your pictures. It was overcast here, all night rain. I had to make do with an online offering. Thanks for stopping in for a gaze.

      • Fergiemoto says:

        Thanks! That’s too bad it was overcast and rainy at your place – bummer. The sky was clear here, but a very cold night for Spring – freezing temps. I was bundled up in a heavy coat and wasn’t outside very long. But the skywatching and photo opportunity were worth it.

  3. ManicDdaily says:

    So interesting. I’d not really heard of this. I love Bob Holman. He used to be my kid’s Santa Claus at a local Christmas party! k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      K,
      That is cool. My closest connection to fame is my cousin who worked on special effects for the Disney film Beauty and the Beast. If I have any others, I don’t know about them. I did get Tolkien’s son’s autograph once. ;)

  4. nonoymanga says:

    its 2 line but very meaningful and it much the photo well. thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Noyoy Manga,
      Welcome back. I’m glad you liked it. It is subtly different from haiku, and I don’t feel I have a firm grasp on either. Still, it is fun to keep learning. Thank you for letting me share it with you.

  5. Amazing photo, my friend. I know they say that, scientifically, the moon doesn’t have an effect on us. However…why was I awake all night!?

  6. Shawna says:

    Brenna (my 2-year-old) is pointing at your moon picture exclaiming, “Ball!” [pause] “Ball!” [pause] “Ball!”

    It’s so cute. She has the biggest grin on her face. :)

  7. leahJlynn says:

    great picture I couldn’t get one , until last night. oh, thanks for sharing this beautiful picture

    • Yousei Hime says:

      leahJlynn,
      I couldn’t get one either, but had to have one for the post. So glad this one showed up in the recommendations. Good to share it with you.

  8. yoga-adan says:

    beautiful shot yousei, love the way the waves are revealing in their variety; thanks for sharing ;-)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I wish I could claim the photo, but it is one WP offered in it’s photo Recommendations section of the editing page. Though I doubt many people saw a red moon, this image was so striking I was compelled to use it to represent what I missed behind that curtain of rain. Thank you for stopping by. Loved your anniversary post.

  9. Shawna says:

    I totally “get” your poem since you had already told me you didn’t think you’d be able to see it. So sorry. :(

    I just adore the word “drizzle,” for rain or ice cream or snot. Whatever. I love the way nature acts as muse. For me, it’s in the movement of air and the scents carried by the breeze. And if I’m inside, a scented candle goes a long way to muse me. Also water, be it a creek or a bath. Those are really my only options. The beach and I have issues. Here is my variation of your poem:

    Glorious sea, sand conceals my salted muse.

    Sand grosses me out, to the max. (I miss Saved by the Bell).

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      I gather there was a character on that show that would sympathize with your sand abhorrence? I only watched it a few times. I don’t care for the beach either, but for me it’s an issue with the sun. I’m susceptible to tomato skin after going to the beach. Not a fan of burning, and skin cancer is in my family. I love the word “drizzle” too, but I’ve never paired it with snot. There is something I’d rather not imagine. We find our muse wandering about so many places, don’t we. Fickle, fascinating creature. :) Happy to have you stop in as always.

      • Shawna says:

        I just thought of Saved by the Bell because I said “to the max.” :)

        I burn if I’m out too long (it’s been years, though). But I typically tan fairly well. LOVE Hawaiian Tropics coconut tanning oil. Yum. It it wouldn’t make me puke, I might drink it. ;)

  10. Raven says:

    This is amazing. This moon seen so differently by so many has been a real inspiration.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Raven,
      I’m so jealous of those who saw it. I was completely prepared to stay up really late (and I did), but the skies never cleared. Funny how important something like that can become. Happy to share the moment with you.

  11. ladynyo says:

    Liked this, very sensitive.
    Lady Nyo

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

