Automatic Following Comments

I love it here at WordPress, but they changed something recently which I do not like at all–if you comment at a WP post, the “notify of follow-up comments” box is automatically checked.  You’ll know this has happened when you get emails (so many!) on subsequent comments following any you’ve made. I am so glad that Joseph Harker at naming constellations was kind enough to mention the solution in his latest post.  Here is he said you can do to eliminate these excessive emails (if you want to):

. . . all you WordPress users, please note that now when you leave a comment on a blog post, you have to uncheck the box at the bottom that says you want to receive updates to the post. (This is different from following a blog, which will just update you when a post is made.) I also pointed out on Viv’s blog, you can go to Dashboard > Home > Blogs I Follow > Comments, and uncheck all the individual posts (not blogs) you’re following at once. I like having blog followers, though. Don’t uncheck that part. :)

(I think it will still notify you of follow-up comments on the top menu bar; this is just for emails.)

You will also need to remember to uncheck “notify of follow-up comments” option before you post your comment.

The epitome of kindness and humor at tita bud’s blog also offered a more permanent solution to the problem.  Hit the link if you’re interested, just know that it will influence non-WP visitors options.

Don’t forget to go moon viewing tonight.  It should be something special for those fortunate enough to have clear skies.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Automatic Following Comments

  1. Yousei, I was so active on this “auto-check” issue, I posted the fix and gave WordPress what-for, then encouraged all bloggers to do the same. I’m hoping that, with Joseph, Viv, and other bloggers, we helped affect change and things are back to normal. Here is my post about the change back, about activism, plus a poem as well for fun! Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/05/23/wp-restores-choices-and-poem/

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amy,
      I found it pretty annoying at first. Especially since it was done without announcing it. You know they can make announcements because we see them pop up at the top of dashboard. I didn’t turn mine off, because I wanted non-WP users to subscribe to a comment if they wanted. I’ve gotten in the habit of watching that check box, so I don’t worry about it anymore. Glad you put a poem up. Wish I’d done that. ;) Be there to read soon.

  2. Thomas Davis says:

    HMMM, this has been driving me nuts! Joseph Harker is a smart man, but I already knew that. More importantly he is a really good poet–like Yousei Hime.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thomas Davis,
      Hope the post helped you. I adore Joseph and his poetry. He is amazing, isn’t he? Glad you’re reading his work. It’s rich and beautifully crafted. Thank you too for the compliment. Feeling a bit better about my writing these days, even though the writing is slower. Many life shifts and changes going on right now. Perhaps I’ll put more on pages soon.

  3. Fergiemoto says:

    yes…sooooo many emails!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Fergiemoto,
      Pretty annoying, right? I’m finally getting into the habit of unchecking that follow-up comments box when I visit and comment. Almost makes one hesitant to comment. I’m sure that’s not what WP intended. ;) Thanks for stopping in and braving the email bug.

  4. sandy says:

    Thank you!!

  5. tita buds says:

    Hi, I stumbled on your post via the WordPress Dashboard.
    It seems there’s now a lot of complaints about the new WP commenting system. I wrote a (hopefully soon-to-be-rendered useless) blog post about it to help me and my readers ‘stop the madness’. :D They are finding it very helpful apparently. I hope you don’t mind my posting the link here, but I think it might just be of help to you guys, too. http://titabuds.com/2012/05/07/a-flood-of-emails/
    Thanks.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      tita buds,
      Thank you very much. Any help is great. I know there are some people who don’t mind this new feature, and I’m sure some at WP thought it would be a good idea. Still I’m certain you’re right about it’s imminent demise. I’m off to read your suggestions.

  6. A Walk In My Heart says:

    Thanks for posting on this. I’ve also noticed that when I reply to somebody’s comments on my blog, that “Notify me of follow-up..” box is also ticked.

  7. Jeannie says:

    Thanks for the heads up!
    We couldn’t see the moon here from cloud cover. I hear it was magnificent!

  8. Shawna says:

    Oh yay, I love moon excitement. What is the moon doing tonight? I live in the dark but not in the dark. ;)

    Also, I think wordpress is now automatically clicking “follow” for you when you visit a new blog. This is quite frustrating.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      It’s a super moon tonight. Bigger? Closer for sure. I think you’re right about the automatic thing. Thing is, it’s not just new blogs. I got hit on your hubby’s, and he can vouch for me that I’ve been there before. ;)

      • Shawna says:

        No, I mean following the blog in general, as in all new posts e-mailed or added to your reader. Then there’s also the comment following thing. Two separate issues.

  9. brian miller says:

    oy, i will have to watch that…sounds like bloggers nasty tinkering and not telling anyone…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      I’m not sure if it is a problem for anyone except WordPress users. Even so, now you know how to be watchful. Enjoying your poetry very much, just not much time to comment (academically apathetic child problems *humongous parental sigh*).

  10. ManicDdaily says:

    I agree with you! It drives me crazy! I do hate it when someone has replied and I missed it, but I get way too many emails to begin with and if you use a mobile device, it drives you crazy. K.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      ManicDdaily, :D Yep. I hadn’t even thought about the mobile aspect. Phew. I was glad it was just two comments that I got caught on. But I probably had 30-40 emails because of them.

  11. angie werren says:

    oh, well. I’m always swimming against the current.
    I like the automatic checked thing — I was always forgetting to check it. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      angie, I was sure some would. I just feel a bit overwhelmed by so many emails. It also seems a bit redundant paired with the notifications number on the dashboard bar. Swim away, sunshine. :)

  12. Roxie says:

    I did notice the change, so far only a few people are aggravated by it…I suppose if there’s enough outcry, they’ll switch it back…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Roxie,
      I imagine it depends on how often one comments. I was catching up on reading (I’m always in that situation), and had a slew of comments from a couple of places at which I’d remarked. They’ll probably change it. It can be fairly annoying when commenting at busy, busy sites. Thanks for stopping in. :)

  13. Raven says:

    I am grateful to have seen this. But I do not always remember to uncheck it. As I look below there is no check.

  14. leahJlynn says:

    Thank you for pointing this out.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

