Sun Showers

In my Rabbit Fairytales I mentioned a fox wedding, this is actually a natural phenomenon found around the world.  These sunshowers are described as rain falling even while the sun is shining.  Each region that experiences this has its own folk beliefs attached to it, and many of them are weddings.

Well there were weddings here today, so I thought I’d share some photos.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Photo, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sun Showers

  1. Shawna says:

    Gorgeous!!! Jordan recently made up the word “sundrops.” I think that is appropriate here. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      A very cool concept, I agree. Kids are great. Having just read my rabbit fairytale, my youngest was the one to point out this latest sunshower to me. Glad he did because I took decent pictures of it. Thanks for sharing this with me.

  2. sandy says:

    I didn’t know that. Thank you!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sandy,
      It’s fascinating. If you go to Youtube, you can search for Kurosawa’s Dreams and see where I first learned about it. I could only find 1,3,4 (not 2 where you see the fox wedding 😦 ).

  3. slpmartin says:

    Thanks for the photos!

  4. brian miller says:

    yep i heard the same as jannie….it is quite beautiful to see though, the phenomenon not the devil doing whatever…lovely pics…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      😀 I’ll agree with you on leaving the devil to his own devices. I’ve enough trouble without borrowing any. Still, loved the showers. Glad you liked the pics. The last is my favorite; I think it came out the best. Enjoyed your limerick too. 😉

  5. Dearest poetic rabbit.

    You know what they say in Canada, and maybe in the U.S. too about it raining while the sun is shining?? It means…. the devil is beating his wife. is that silly, or what? >) But it’s always stuck with me. And always will I’m sure.

    LOVELY shots!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jannie,
      I’d never heard that myself (coming from a rather stuffy Christian upbringing), but this is actually on the list if you follow the sunshowers link. Fascinating really. How did they even come up with the idea? Glad we could share this. 🙂

  6. leahjlynn says:

    Funny you have this post, my friend was blogging about her own wedding and it happen during rain and the sun came out during the kiss between she and her husband. here’s her link if you’d like to read. http://believehopedream.typepad.com

    • Yousei Hime says:

      leahjlynn,
      Funny how things happen during weddings that worry us at first, yet we recognize how special they made things later. Thanks for sharing my photos with me. I’ll follow your link to take a look. 🙂

  7. Raven says:

    You have captured this well in your photos. It is a phenomenon I have seen often here in the midwest and it is startlingly beautiful.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Raven,
      I don’t think I’d ever noticed it until I saw it in Kurosawa’s Dreams. The very first vignette of the film is the fox wedding. I loved it and have watched for the phenomenon ever since. Thank you for sharing it with me.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

