Texas Haibun

This is for the We Write Poems prompt on haibun.  Though I’ve written haiku, I’ve never intentionally written haibun.  Haibun put very simply, is a combination of short prose paired with a haiku.  They are connected, sometimes obviously but sometimes more cryptically.  I’ve included photos at the end of the place that inspired this.  The haibun link will take you to a more detailed explanation of the form and prompt.  Please visit the We Write Poems link above for more haibun.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The crunch of steps from gravel drive falls mute under the grassy shade of the live oak, a giant bonsai planted in a raised bed of monkey grass.  To its left young lilies thrust up with promises of sunset colored blooms.  To the right the drive curves and flows on to the house, a house dreamt by two but built by one.  Past the house, a dogwood blooms over a stone bench resting near the woods’ edge.  Before the greetings, before any words, I must wade into this springtime sea of blue and white.  It waves within its borders–the road, drive, house and woods.  Now ankle deep in rich blue, I join the bees and butterflies and flowers, listening to their secret conversations.  They whisper of memories, so many springs here, with me away to the north.  Memories of recent springs without him who watered them so diligently.  Wading out toward the house, I wonder if there is an integral formula that would estimate how many bluebonnets there are waiting for him today.

if I cry
will you mourn with me
mockingbird

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haibun, Interesting Blogs, Photo, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Texas Haibun

  1. You just did…. I would love to see a field of bluebonnets and I love your haiku

  2. Misky says:

    You stitched the words and photos together seamlessly. Lovely.

  3. Pingback: Haibun ~ Leaf Writer and Alternate Poetic Grounds « A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2012

  4. Beautiful pics and wonderful write.

  5. suzicate says:

    This is beautiful. I like this 3,5,3…I will check out haibun as I’ve never heard of it before…thank you. I think this has a stronger impact (at least this one you did) than the typical 5,7,5.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      suzicate,
      Glad you liked it. I like the haibun form. It is interesting to read how the prose and poem interact, sometimes obviously often not. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I enjoyed sharing this with you.

  6. rdl says:

    very nice!! is the haiban form at the end 3,5,3? like haiku 5/7/5 – tho not sure this is everyone’s interpretation. like the new wallpaper.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      rdl,
      😀 Glad you liked it. Yes, it is 3-5-3. I feel that if the image is solid, the feeling is communicated and all is in a condensed form, the syllable count becomes irrelevant. Hmmm, so write what works best for you.

      Even rabbits have to change their surroundings occasionally. 😉

  7. nan says:

    Powerful haibun. For some reason, my eyes went to the haiku first, and I read it several times, absorbing its beauty, its melancholy . . . then, I read the prose passage with its descriptive images and lovely memories. Really nicely done. The feeling stays with me.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      nan,
      I think that lingering with a reader is a good measure of the success of any writing. Thank you for your comment. I’m glad I could share these memories with you.

  8. Your blog is so beautiful, Yousei! Enjoyed your words immensely!

  9. ms pie says:

    blue bonnets laughter in a texas breeze… it can make one recall so sweetly what once was….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      ms pie,
      You’re absolutely right. Nothing like a beautiful place to make memories dance. Thank you for visiting and commenting. Hope I’ll see you again sometime.

  10. wayne says:

    nicely done Yousei…thanks for this

  11. sandy says:

    Wonderful.
    I have only done one of these, and not so well as you did.
    You made me homesick for Texas, and I am not even from there!

  12. Raven says:

    This is a wonderful day to spend such beauty.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Raven,
      I really wish I could be there. It’s just not a great time to leave home. Besides I wouldn’t want to come back if I did go, lol. Maybe next spring.

  13. Beautiful and well-done. The photographs really helped bring it to life too. And there’s just the right hint of mystery and untold story in the prose, layers waiting to be discovered.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph Harker,
      From what you said in your comment, it seems the piece read just the way I’d hoped for you. Not sure why, but I never considered not including the photos. Of course now that I’ve thought about it, I wonder how well the writing would stand apart from them. I’ll definitely write more haibun, so time to research, read, and write more.

  14. slpmartin says:

    Beautiful combination of words and photographs…a lovely way to start my day…many thanks.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      I just spoke with my mother this morning, and the bluebonnets are beginning to bloom. She told me about a place my great uncle recalled that is a mountain overlooking a valley of bluebonnets. She said it looks like a lake. Ah…I really want to go there now. Thank you for sharing this with me.

  15. brian miller says:

    smiles….you did well for not writing it…def getting hints of spring around here…and loving it…great to see the new life….and i agree with you on the surreality

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Our warmth was brief here, dropping back into the 20’s tonight with a chance of snow. Every the fickle one this mitten state. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment and swim in a bit of blue with me.

  16. I loved the words, and loved the images. Surreal and very true at the same time. Beautiful.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      The Happy Amateur,
      I think there is something a bit surreal about bluebonnets. For me they are like looking at a living Impressionist painting. Thank you for sharing in this poem.

  17. vivinfrance says:

    Enchantment mingled with regret – an irresistible combination.

  18. irene says:

    Lovely images of spring tied all together. The thoughts of spring, haiku and images are just what I needed. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      irene,
      I need some Spring too. We had an amazing day yesterday–blue sky, warm winds, 60F temps. Today its colder and rainy. Oh well, little at a time. Thanks for coming by and reading. 🙂

  19. Jeannie says:

    this has a lusciousness that I am loving. I’ve read one other haibun (sp?) ever. I am going to have to try it sometime. The images in this are amazing. Very nice!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jeannie,
      Thank you so much for your read and comment. I’d suggest you read a few before trying it. I haven’t read many, but I will now. I really like the form. I’ve got a book of Basho’s journeys somewhere (time to treasure hunt), so I’ll start with the master. 😉

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

