NaHaiWriMo Day 28

Nearing the end, here is today’s prompt from NaHaiWriMo:

We’re done with the alphabet, but we still have two days left in the month. For February 28, I’d like to repeat another popular prompt from the past, to have a little fun. Again, it’s by Terri Hale French, from August 26, 2011: Visit http://www.everypoet.com/haiku/default.htm, take a “haiku” generated at that site and turn it into something more literary—you may need to revise extensively! Please post the original along with your rewrite (all in one posting).

I’ve never attempted this one, this being my first year to take part in NaHaiWriMo.  I was very curious because I read some moans and groans about this prompt.    Haiku are randomly generated at the site.  They’re interesting, certainly.  Here are the first few I read:

snail resonates, green
scarecrows beckon, laughable
redwoods wobble, soaked

orchard ravages
shabby icy immortal
shaking, mildly, vast

mesmerizing clown
sneezing, pulling, hoarsely, dune
realizes, brave

copious stagnant
opulent female chases, poor
family reflects

Wow.  I only looked at a few, but I can see how someone might look at dozens to find a workable one.  I decided on that last one, and after much thought, head scratching, chuckles and moans . . . I came up with this:

diamond cinched feline courts
tomcat … gotta pick

Cat Conspiracy


About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NaHaiWriMo Day 28

  1. sanjuktaa says:

    Haha…now you know the reason for those “moans and groans”! Glad that you’ve been able to make at least some sense out of the last one. I was not so lucky…even after looking at something like 20 😦

    • Yousei Hime says:

      sanjuktaa,
      This was maybe the most difficult prompt. I finally found one I could work with when I looked at word groups within the generated haiku. When I saw phrases that made some visual sense, I finally had something I could play with. This wasn’t easy, that’s for sure.

  2. sandy says:

    That last one had me laughing!

  3. slpmartin says:

    What a fun picture and verse…made me smile duirng morning coffee.

  4. My friend on the facebook page NaHaiWriMo they have decided to continue with the prompts. Check it out and keep writing.

  5. brian miller says:

    haha…poor tom…having his pick…smiles…this was a fun one…and you did well with that prompt…

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

