NaHaiWriMo Day 13

apathy

Mt. Everest

passing grades

North Face of Mt. Everest

Image via Wikipedia

About T A Smith

Just one of the literacy scholars on this site who wants to explore writing in all its complexities.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to NaHaiWriMo Day 13

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    Economy of words yet presented forcefully. Well done!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Eric,
      Thank you. This is one that unfortunately wrote itself. 😉 I always appreciate your visits and words.

      • Eric Alagan says:

        Oh, Yousei
        Don’t under estimate your talents.
        Cheers 🙂

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Eric,
          I’m afraid my well of confidence tends to be low most days. I appreciate your encouragement. My comment on this particular poem was more in the way of a complaint along the lines of “Why don’t my kids care more about their grades?” Got a haiku out of it though, right? 😉

          • Eric Alagan says:

            Don’t get me wrong – I’m not trying to slip in the last word.

            Though my children and I are academically inclined, I keep reminding my kids that academic grades are a stunted measure of a child’s true talents. But that is the world we live in…

            During my corporate life, I spotted some of my best potential managers among the so called less educated – I always gave them a leg-up and not one person disappointed me!

            Trust in your love, trust your parenting skills and most of all, trust your kids – God did not place them here for nought.

            Luv and peace to you and family 🙂

            • Yousei Hime says:

              Eric,
              I agree with everything you just said. It’s just hard watching them limit themselves, at least their immediate post high school future, with just barely passing. Still they are both smart, talented, and gifted boys. I look forward to seeing them fulfill the potential they were born with, most of which have little to do with academics. They are creative, strong, visionary types. Very musical too. Who knows. I had a post earlier with a song my oldest wrote. I hope he keeps it up, because I was amazed at the polish for a first song. Thank you for your encouragement. I’ll come back and read it whenever the frustration gets a bit much.

  2. mareymercy says:

    It can be a bit like climbing Everest!

  3. sanjuktaa says:

    Excellent, Yousei! I had read this one on NHWM page on FB, but hadn’t realized it was you 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      sanjuktaa,
      Yes. I started my blog with a pseudonym so I felt freer in my writing. As I look more seriously at publishing I thought I’d better use my own name. I still love my rabbit persona, just another side of me really. Glad you figured it out.

  4. Ruth says:

    Yousei, this is simply brilliant – amazing what you do with 5 words & a pic

  5. slpmartin says:

    Another fine haiku…photo and poem work well together.

  6. Raven says:

    Yousei, I am not a lover of many American Haiku writers. But your work that is much like the old Japanese masters is an inspiration to me.

  7. Becky says:

    Nice — excellent words with the picture!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

