NaHaiWriMo Day 10

my peach jam on winter toast — chickadee snow

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NaHaiWriMo Day 10

  1. ajoops says:

    Peach jam on winter toast. Lovely!!!

  2. Bill says:

    Dang girl, I admire your giftings. Bill

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Bill,
      Awesome to have you here. Glad you like it. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve written something and wondered, “I wonder what Hood would think of this?” You do that?

      • Bill says:

        Sometimes–but not as much as I once. did. I like to think that he’s read my thesis, but I haven’t had the nerve to ask him, or even send the link. For those of us who fell under his influence, I doubt we will ever get past wondering. I told him when I saw him last that we used to talk about the Hoodian influence on English literature. He was amused.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Bill,
          Haha. I can see that. I think I can imagine his expression. I liked him, but he always intimidated me. I think he went kind of easy on my writing. I always felt his comments fell into three categories: silence (which meant it sucked but he wasn’t saying so), harsh, and sparse praise (kind of like my in-laws “that’s not too bad”). As a matter of fact, my in-laws are actually from the same area of Kentucky, so that shouldn’t be too surprising. Still, I’d really like to show him some sometime to see what I get.

  3. sandy says:

    It works for me.

  4. Raven says:

    How lovely are your words.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Raven,
      I struggled a bit with this one. It ended up being a combination of using a prompt word, thoughts of what little winter we have (light snow) finally turning to spring, and yesterday’s scene of chickadee’s flitting about everywhere in a mad dance. I don’t think the haiku suggests all that, but that is where it’s bones were created.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

