New Poetry Prompt

Shawna at rosemary mint has begun a weekly prompt called Monday Melting. She’s into week 5 and I have yet to take up the gauntlet. She informed me that she’s not even holding her breath anymore. Well, that’s no fun. So . . . I’ve decided to try it. Maybe I’ll at least get a gasp.

Shawna offers a list of words and challenges poets to write a poem using any or all. Any, not so hard; all . . . oh my gosh. Here is this week’s list followed by my attempt. Phew.

(Week 5)

1) hysteria
2) elapse
3) lash
4) resin
5) bedlam
6) douse
7) plush
8) peach
9) hush
10) drizzle
11) reptile
12) hypnotize
13) rectify
14) bevel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Deutsch: Bernstein English: Amber

in the peach-plush elapse
between satisfaction
douse to drizzle
and word-lash strike
hush and bedlam
hypnotized in reptile shock
are resin-captured
another beveled hysteria
no sorry can rectify

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Poetry Prompt

  1. Pingback: Writing Prompts: Day Four « Writing Tips

  2. I’m not usually one to hop on Wordles and word banks, but that’s one of the lushest lists I’ve seen lately for that type of prompt… excellent stuff.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      Welcome back! 😀 You’re right. Her words are tempting. I also found them a bit intimidating, but I doubt you will. Take a peek at the other four and see if any others tempt you. I love seeing what others have done with the same words. Ready for spring?

      • Shawna says:

        Thanks for the compliment. I was considering ceasing the prompt or overhauling the type of words I select. I’m not writing anything worthwhile from the words.

        Oh how your last line sings; it’s all beautiful and ripe with description … but “no sorry can rectify” is a line that will run deep into the heart of any reader.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Shawna,
          Do what’s best for you on the prompt, but even though I only attempted one, I found the words challenging and interesting. Joseph Harker liked them, a compliment in my opinion. However, if you don’t find your own prompt interesting or inspiring, the change might be the right thing.

          That last line came to me about halfway through the writing. Finding the right ending feels as good or better than best first line.

  3. slpmartin says:

    Oh…nicely done…not sure I could do that. 🙂

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

