Haiku In Defiance

I’m sure many have or are experiencing a bit too much of life–not the too good, joys and blessings, but the weights and shadows we carry through surrounded fog. Well, that has been my life lately. Not only have I had no time to write, I haven’t even crawled over a shred of motivation. I used to find those everywhere. With the arrival of February I’ve decided to claim a few moments every day to participate in NaHaiWriMo. Three days into it isn’t too late to start.

There are no special rules or sign-ups. The official page is linked above, and one can post haiku on the Facebook page here. (You need a Facebook account.) Now for the haiku.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Year Of The Dragon - Chinese New Year 2012

Year Of The Dragon - Chinese New Year 2012 (Photo credit: infomatique)

cold white sheets naked I wait for you
— silent snow

rabbit year lost in dragon’s shadow
— winter bonfire

still modest five-leafed oak — catfish under ice

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Haiku In Defiance

  1. Lindy Lee says:

    You have a great gift for transforming your unique thoughts into words. Thank you for sharing your talent…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lindy Lee,
      Thank you. After visiting your sight as thank you and rereading some of your recent poems, your comment is praise to me. Thank you for sharing your talent and time as well.

  2. Thomas Davis says:

    rabbit year lost in dragon’s shadow
    – winter bonfire
    What a wonderful poem!
    Life gets in the way of poetry sometimes, but poetry is life, so, if you are a poet, and you are, the fires will stoke up deep inside, and one day lava will run through black stone to fall into the steaming sea.

  3. Fergiemoto says:

    Looking forward to seeing your haiku for NaHaiWriMo!

  4. Ruth says:

    It comes and it goes, it seems (the muse) – yours has done well here… 🙂
    I wish you all the best.

  5. Pingback: Joining … NaHaiWriMo … February | NOH – WHERE

  6. slpmartin says:

    Hope things move to the more peaceful and creative side for you soon…love you post here…I dropped facebook sometime ago but will enjoy what I see here. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Thank you for your well wishes. I hope so too. I’m still clinging to Facebook for the friends and family connections, but I’ve heard many complaints about it lately. I’m happier that your coming by here, for purely selfish reasons of course. I’ll stop by to see you soon.

  7. Raven says:

    Thank you for bringing this to me. Very nice Haiku!

  8. Really like the last one. Wonderful sense of motionless and silence on the surface, yet below movement and activity. And catfish are always awesome (and trout – thank you Richard Brautigan!).

    Like the others as well, but the last one would be my favourite.

    And please keep writing. Tis a wonderful thing and much fun to read.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      skyraftwanderer,
      Welcome back. 🙂 Motion in poetry . . . I’m glad you commented, because it expanded my perception of my own writing. I will endeavor to write more. Thank you for your encouragement.

  9. Jacquie says:

    big punch in those small packages!

    (I am starting late with NaHaiWriMo too)

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

