Another Poem From My Son

What a wonderful surprise. I was eating dinner with my husband, when my youngest sent me a text. To my astonishment, he sent me a poem … unexpected and unsolicited. I just had to share it here, with only one spelling correction. 😉

solitudes cold breath
high north gently winds gust on
peacefully white falls

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Favorite Poems by Others, Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Another Poem From My Son

  1. lesliepaints says:

    If there is such a thing as a writing gene, your son truly has it, Yousei! Loved this!

  2. Pingback: 6 Feet Under « Complicated Chaos

  3. Thomas Davis says:

    Your son is going to be as talented as you are. Posting will encourage him, and he should be encouraged.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thomas Davis,
      Welcome back and thank you. I love posting his poems, and he likes hearing what the visitors have to say. I’ll be sure and share your encouraging words with him.

  4. What a gift. It gives me hope that poetry will not die!

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    Wonderful! It’s so wonderful too that you’ve instilled love of language. K.

  6. Brendan says:

    The verse conversation between mother and son is the deepest soak in the mother tongue. Your son’s poem neatly catches the contradictions of winter: coldest season, warmest heart. Nice gift. – Brendan

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Brendan,
      Welcome. I always love sharing in creation with my children. It comes too rarely now that they are perched on the edge of the nest. This poem was indeed a pleasant surprise. He told me later that he wrote it in class as a required journal entry. Still … that he thought to share it with me later is a blessing. Thank you for allowing me to share it with you and for your kind words.

  7. slpmartin says:

    Ah…it would appear the talent is genetic. 🙂

  8. Eve Redwater says:

    I think he’s done a wonderful job – this is lovely!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Eve Redwater,
      I like it as well. It doesn’t read smoothly, but that forces one to make unexpected connections. I doubt he did this intentionally but it is a hint of how complicated his mind is. He rarely expresses himself in conventional ways. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  9. kaykuala says:

    Yousei Ma’am,
    How nice! Anything from the youngsters,anything at all is most welcomed. The fact that they write in is indicative they’re thinking of home!. Great haiku! Check out my haiku at,

    http://imagery77.blogspot.com/2011/12/hot-meals.

    Hank

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hank,
      Welcome and thank you for your visit and kind comment. I agree wholeheartedly and am thrilled he thought of me enough to send the poem. This took place after wrestling practice while out to eat with friends, an unlikely time to think of your mom and write her a poem. I’ll be sure to visit your site very soon.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

