Needed Inspiration

I recently subscribed to Lauren Camps’ Which Silk Shirt, and I recommend it for all she offers in her posts–food for writing thoughts as well as posts on art, book reviews, current events, language, her own poems, writing analysis, markets, and more.  Her most recent post, Write a Single Line, was simple but important, because it addresses excuses often made for not writing. Laura said,

The other day as I was driving past the field at the bottom of my street, bemoaning my busy schedule and how there isn’t enough time to write, I realized that there is always time for at least one line. . . .  Oh, but there’s more… Don’t just write any line. You must give yourself some parameter. Just one single variable that keeps you on track.

When you read her full post, you’ll recognize it as an excellent goal for short writing droughts, or in my case, for all of 2012.  I’m going to start today with a “At least a single line” commitment to 2012.

My focus will be to use scent words to describe something in my day that is not usually associated with scent.  I’m not always going to post my line for the day, but I am going to log them on a separate, private space and see what accumulates.  What grows from this goal, will definitely make its way out from under the rabbit’s paw into the sunlight.

For other resolution ideas visit Kellie Elmore’s Magic in the Backyard:  Free Write Friday.

(WordPress informed that this is my “200th post.”  Huzzah!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chasing Rabbits

I’ve lit a stick of determination and let its musk arouse my pen.

About T A Smith

Just one of the literacy scholars on this site who wants to explore writing in all its complexities.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Needed Inspiration

  1. Let’s go for 200 more, yeah? 🙂

  2. ManicDdaily says:

    Good luck! K.

  3. Thank you for sharing this with FWF! Happy Holidays!

    Kellie

  4. sanjuktaa says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Yousei! I hope i too can start the new year with this resolution.

  5. A great resolution…after all a poem, short story, or book begin with one line 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Susie,
      Welcome and thank you for visiting and commenting. Now I just have to stick to it. It will be pretty pathetic if I can’t manage a line a day. 😉 Thanks for your encouraging words.

  6. Thomas Davis says:

    I’ve been writing for so many years, pretty much without any big dry spells, that I relate to what you are saying in this post. Sometimes I have ideas in mind before I sit down with a computer or pen and paper, but, more often, I simply sit down and start trying to write something, anything. Sometimes the first line, if I’m writing poetry, has to be cut later on in the rewriting process, but the point is that the act of writing leads to writing and, more often than not, something worth writing. You got me to thinking about the craft of writing again, so thank you, as usual.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thomas Davis,
      You are so right. I find that when I spend time writing, I write more than I planned. It’s always exciting to have a point of inspiration, but I find more often my inspiration arises in the process of writing, in the discovery of what I have to say or even what I happen to say. I enjoy thinking about things too, so I’m glad I passed on something to ponder. Thanks for your visit and continued encouragement.

  7. yoga-adan says:

    poetic rabbit, and this,

    “I’ve lit a stick of determination and let its musk arouse my pen”

    nice 😉 glad i came by

    great header image too btw 😉

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Felipe,
      Welcome and thank you for returning the visit and leaving a comment. I’m delighted you enjoyed it. I rather like that line too. May it be a foreshadowing of good writing to come. I enjoyed my visit to your site, especially your poem. I love that opening. It reminds me of the Dickinson quote I display on my blog. When something steals our breathe, it is powerful. That’s the kind of writing for which I am practicing and practicing. If you like the image, please visit Leslie White’s blog http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/ . She kindly painted it for me, and you’ll find her an inspiring artist and enjoyable blogger. Please come by whenever you like. I welcome your visits.

  8. I like it, Yousei! Lauren’s advice is sound, and I like what you did with it. Very nice post!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/my-new-years-resolution-not/

    • Yousei Hime says:

      charlesmashburn,
      Welcome and thank you. I agree, Lauren has good advice. I’ve been looking for a simple remedy to lack of inspiration or motivation. I think this will not only help to move beyond those but will add to possible poem ideas, if not give seed to a complete poem. Thank you for your visit and kind comment.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

