Word of the Month November Prompt — Flamboyant

Once

Messier 101 (captured by the Spitzer Space Tel...

Image via Wikipedia

your smile
made me feel like

being adorned with a thousand tinkling, glittering jewels,

being wrapped in silken strips of rainbow

being whirled among the pealing, delirious giggles of a celestial reel

until we landed bare
in a heap

of flamboyant joy

for David L. Harrison‘s Adult “W.O.M.” Poems

and dVerse

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Word of the Month November Prompt — Flamboyant

  1. “being wrapped in silken strips of rainbow” – Thats pretty great right there.

    Also, I love it when form is played with. And it’s excellently done here.

    Great work.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      skyraftwanderer,
      Thank you so much for visiting, wandering about smiling at different poems, and stopping to speak with me. I visited your place too and enjoyed it very much, especially those Chinese inspired poems. Happy New Year to you. May we meet often in the next year.

  2. Lindy Lee says:

    Adult? with great taste and class…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lindy Lee, ;) Yes it’s a bit grown up, at least at the end. I’m so glad you visited, commented and enjoyed the dance. Looking forward to seeing more of you here and at your special place.

  3. Laurie Kolp says:

    A great word I’ve always liked… love the ending.

  4. I love your use of wording here. Made me smile! :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Cheryl,
      If you smiled then I did well. Thank you for visiting and commenting. I can’t seem to get my writing going lately. Too much other stuff going on. I’ll try again soon. It may not be like air, but I’m sure it’s water and nourishment to my soul.

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    Yousei–already commented here on freshness, energy, fun, exuberance of poem. But how are YOU!??? Hope all is well. K.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      K,
      Me . . . so-so at best. Things at home are complicated and depressing. Not what one would want for these holidays. I appreciate you stopping in to check on me. I’m glad you liked the poem. A satisfied reader always brings me a smile. Best to you and yours for the holidays.

  6. Thomas Davis says:

    This much joy makes me want to find a heap to jump in so that I can find all the fun I’ve been missing.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thomas Davis,
      Welcome and thank you very much for your visit and comment. I’m glad you felt the call to jump in. I hope you’ll always find a smile when you visit here.

  7. Victoria says:

    Wonderful, flambouyant fun, but the first word–”Once”–made me wonder. Is it over?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Victoria,
      You are the only commenter to question that. It appears so. It is a much different dance these days and no smiles involved. Thank you for your visit and observant comment. Every word should count in writing, right?

  8. manicddaily says:

    Ha! Sounds pretty great. K.

  9. Ah, fun with and without clothes!

    I can relate to all the beauteous wonder of the whirling glittered rainbow flamboyance in this sun and star dappled poem!

    xo

  10. Old Raven says:

    Ah … this was but a delight!

  11. lesliepaints says:

    My goodness, I love this, Yousei! You bring back a moment so well.

  12. Stephanie says:

    I like the idea of all of that joy stripping ‘bare in a heap.’ Exhaustion! Lovely piece.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Stephanie,
      Welcome and thank you for the comment. That “heap” is rather appealing, isn’t it. Though I think I’d like it better about seven months from now. Thanks for stopping by.

  13. It was a poem worthy of the best uses of the word – what flames more than love, joy, color, beauty, all piled in a heap making one feel richer than Midas – the best of life – things that burn in memory when times are gray, when good times turn to ashes, when love is gone. Beautiful.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Gay Reiser Cannon,
      Thank you for the visit and kind comment. I love that Midas spin. You mentioned the loss side too, which is only hinted at by a very few words. So glad you shared your thoughts with me.

  14. Shawna says:

    I love this line:

    “being whirled among the pealing, delirious giggles of a celestial reel”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      Welcome back, my friend. I remember doing reels in grade school. I loved them. I’m not one to giggle, but there is an infectious joy in hearing such sounds. Glad you liked the dance. :)

  15. claudia says:

    landing bare in a heap of flamboyant joy…this sounds like great fun..well, there are smiles that can do this to us…smiles.. love the word flamboyant..and love the carefree mood of this yousei

    • Yousei Hime says:

      claudia,
      Thank you for the visit and especially for your comment. Flamboyant needed just the right setting to be seen to advantage. I’m glad you thought I set the stage appropriately. See you around dVerse and the moon.

  16. slpmartin says:

    I liked your response to the word prompt…no sure I could think of anything for that one.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Welcome back. This was indeed a difficult word. It took me almost the whole month to come up with something. If I could do it in a month, I’m sure you can find a venue for this tricky, flashy fellow. Happy to see you.

  17. Ruth says:

    you have captured beautifully how wonderfully special a single smile can make one feel…

  18. this is fun reflection, well done.

  19. tashtoo says:

    Fantastic use of the word! Loved the playful presentation as well.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      tashtoo,
      You caught that playfulness, excellent. That was important. I struggled with how to use that word, and just before bed the other night, it came swirling in. Thanks for stopping by.

  20. Brendan says:

    That must’ve been one dizzy, dazzling, ditzy smile … you sure followed it over the rainbow to the pot o’ gold. Loved it … B

  21. Heaven says:

    that must have been such a gorgeous smile…and flamboyant joy ~

    beautiful ~

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Heaven,
      Thank you for reading and leaving a comment. The smile was and still is very special. It’s just difficult to see with the weight and struggle of our years together. My boys have some of that smile. I feel sorry for the girls around them . . . sort of.

  22. brian miller says:

    nice…a heap of joy is a nice thing…haha…nice sensuality without ever really mentioning it…only alluding…fun read…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thanks for the visit and the read. I like using subtle allusion. I’m rather heavy handed with it at times, but when it works, it’s satisfying. Appreciate your comment.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

