Taste of Thanksgiving

Here are photos of our feast.  My biggest disappointment . . . I forgot the cranberry sauce.

Roasted asparagus with balsamic vinegar

Cajun seasoned dressing

Requisite mashed potatoes (yes, gravy too)

Sweet potatoes with marshmallow topping

Spoon bread, which is something between cornbread and corn pudding

Fruit salad, another holiday staple in our home.

And of course, the turkey.  We raised this one last year and it turned out beautifully.

Happy holidays to all.  Eat well, and enjoy your family and friends.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

brisk crackle of acorns and leaves thanksgiving again

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Haiku, Photo, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Taste of Thanksgiving

  1. Lindy Lee says:

    With goodies like these, who needs cranberry sauce?

  2. Old Raven says:

    This looks scrumptious!

  3. manicddaily says:

    Looks amazing. I’d do quite a bit for some spoon bread just this minute! Thanks for posting. K.

  4. delicious one.

    keep your blog green and refreshing.

  5. irene says:

    I fixated on the sweet potato/marshmallows, didn’t know there’s such a dish. Hmm..I’m being initiated. You sure cooked up a feast. Next up, Christmas.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      irene,
      Christmas . . . I know, I know. It’s even worse because of all the desserts minus a lot of the healthier choices. With any luck, I won’t have to cook for that. The sweet potatoes are pretty easy. Peal and chop into large chunks. Boil in a little water (not quite covering the potatoes) until they’re soft. Let the water cook down. Add salt (to taste) and butter (if you want). Mash them in the pot. Add a cup or two of mini marshmallows or marshmallow fluff if you can find it. Put this stuff in a baking pan, topping it with the rest of the marshmallows. That’s it. You try it if you can. 🙂

  6. Jerry says:

    Wow, I am hungry all over again!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jerry,
      That’s been mine problem. I think about or see what’s still in the kitchen, and the tummy starts rumbling. Even right after I eat I’m hungry. Here’s to keeping weight gain to a minimum while enjoyed the bounty.

  7. sandy says:

    Looks good to me.

  8. kaykuala says:

    These are more than a mouthful. What would I do to deserve them. And what would I have to shed after that. I can be naughty once a year I guess !

    Hank

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hank,
      Welcome. Shedding afterward . . . guess I’ll be walking today. It is a gorgeous blue sky with nice white, high clouds in the distance. I wasn’t too naughty, so I’m happy. I really wanted to do it the Southern way though–eat until I’m miserable and moaning, then talk about how good it was. Then do it again as soon as possible. Hope you had a good holiday.

  9. claudia says:

    hmmmm…i’m getting hungry… nice.. happy thanksgiving..

  10. Mary says:

    Looks like a delicious meal. Ah, sweet potato with marshmallows is a staple at my Thanksgiving table as well. No asparagus though (however I love it), but another staple – green bean casserole! In addition to the requisite turkey, etc., etc. Now today — leftovers! Yum all over again.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mary,
      I’m guessing my mother wasn’t a fan of green bean casserole, because I do not remember it growing up (unless we visited someone else). I don’t make it either. I’d rather my green beans have a few potatoes, some onion and bacon (or hamhock). Yes, we are well into leftovers today too. Thanks for stopping in and sharing the holiday.

  11. Jeanne says:

    Sweet potato with marshmallow. Um, yeah. I’d heard of this before, but this is the first time I’ve seen it!! Oh my!! You American (she says, shaking head.)

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jeane,
      Yes, well . . . we Americans like our sugar, Southerners in particular. The actually recipe called for something called marshmallow fluff, which comes in a jar. I like sweet potatoes lots of was, savory and sweet and spicy. Care to share any interesting, unique recipes from your neck of the woods? I’d love to hear about them. Happy Thanksgiving to you too. 🙂

  12. Chazzy Chazx says:

    yummmmmmmyyyyy… 🙂

  13. Ruth says:

    mmmm… we had our thanksgiving last month but I could eat that turkey right now – and cajun dressing? sounds yummy! looks like you did ok, even without the cranberry sauce…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Ruth,
      It was a nice meal as you said. I do like cranberry sauce though. 😦 The dressing just had about a tablespoon of cajun poultry seasoning. I grabbed the wrong bottle and made a happy, tasty mistake. If you like a little spice, I recommend it.

  14. zongrik says:

    fruit salad, yum yum!! asparagus looks really good too

  15. slpmartin says:

    Happy Thanksgiving…the meal looks great.

  16. Heaven says:

    looks yummy… thanks for sharing them ~

    happy thanksgiving ~

  17. Yousei Hime says:

    brian,
    Happy Thanksgiving. That stuffing was a happy accident. I grabbed the wrong seasoning, took a bite later and thought, “Why is this a bit spicy? Yum!” If I remember I’ll be doing it again next year. Thanks for stopping by.

  18. brian miller says:

    mmm you are eating well today…we did not have spoon bread, but i do enjoy it…the asparagus is a nice touch as well…cajun stuffing…you might actually get me to eat stuffing that way..smiles. i hope you have a lovely day!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

