dVerse Poetics Prompt

Sheila Moore and dVerse offer the prompt “change.”  I think many people would join her in saying they dislike change; I’m one of them.  Even so, there are times when I am all too happy to see change, and drastic ones at that.  So here is my poem on change.

moon

Image by birdfarm via Flickr

the moon is slipping
wafer strands over bare trees
their summer dressing
scattered in orange and russet
the moon and I are sisters
we wax and wane in darkness

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Poetry, Prompts, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to dVerse Poetics Prompt

  1. Thomas Davis says:

    There is a tenderness and joy in your poetry, and even the form of your poetry, that is impressive and welcome. Thank you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thomas Davis,
      Welcome again. I thank you for your comment. It is always encouraging to know a reader enjoys one’s writing. I visited your site and read your latest sonnets. I am sorry for your loss, but thank you for sharing it through your poetry.

  2. hames1977 says:

    dear yousei,

    i like your imagery, so crisply written. and marvelous lines “the moon and I are sisters
    we wax and wane in darkness”, perfectly still

  3. lesliepaints says:

    I like how this brings forward the idea that all around us changes even when we may resist it, the change carries us on its own timeless journey. Beautiful, Yousei!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I like your reading of this. Sometimes writing, and I’m certain art is the same, surprises us with where it goes and how it gets there. Glad you liked the poem. I was pleasantly surprised too when it ended.

  4. manicddaily says:

    This is lovely–simple, sweet, and beautifully described. K.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      K,
      Thanks again. I always appreciate hearing what a reader thinks. You know sometimes we like our writing at first and later . . . . I still like this one. I think that’s a good sign.

  5. love this,

    last two lines are superb.

  6. Sheila Moore says:

    and I am the moon’s sister as well – guess that makes us sisters (smiles) Great poem – thanks for participating.

  7. claudia says:

    i love your tender voice here and the opposites – scattered orange.. and then the deep and personal connection really works well … much enjoyed

  8. becca givens says:

    I LOVE this … from start to finish! Lovely image painted with words!! Thank you for sharing!

  9. Old Raven says:

    Yousei … I am so glad that you found me for now I have found you. The tenderness of your blog through both your words and the rabbits is deeply appealing to me. Your metaphors are marvelous. I have had a @#$))y day, but this lovely blog has reminded me of how lovely the world can be. Thank you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Old Raven,
      I am most sorry for your day (mine has been good for a change), but like you, I am delighted in discovering one another. I do believe an Old Raven would make a marvelous friend and mentor for a Poetic Rabbit. I look forward to all the writing we share and discuss.

  10. Shawna says:

    Um, awesome. 🙂

    I love the last three, especially the final:

    “scattered in orange and russet
    the moon and I are sisters
    we wax and wane in darkness”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shawna,
      I like that ending too. I wanted to bind them somehow. It’s easy to feel a connection to the moon. Shoot, the Jade rabbit lives there, so there has to be a connection. Glad I could share this with you. 😉

  11. slpmartin says:

    Wonderful description of the changing of the season.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Welcome back. 😀 Glad you caught that seasonal change. I didn’t think it was obvious enough, but I hadn’t worked out add more clues. Perhaps it’s not necessary. Thanks for the visit and comment.

  12. Victoria says:

    This is just exquisite. You have such an ability to express so much in few words. The moon and I are sisters…love it.

  13. brian says:

    nice..i have an affinity to the moon as well…love to see her high in the sky…nice elements to this…the nature, the heavens and their relationship to you…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thank you. The moon, the stars … if it wasn’t so cold I’d go out right now and bed in the grass to watch. I’m not sure what I’d watch, but it is eternally fascinating. Thanks for your comment and visit. See you at the Waystation.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

