Haiku Heights Prompt: Obsession

Their 94th prompt is OBSESSION, suggested by Amy Trumble who blogs over at Originals.  Interesting idea for the focus of a haiku so . . .

autumn walks past bare trees to find rabbit paths

dont you just love fall?

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Interesting Blogs, Poetic Rabbit, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Haiku Heights Prompt: Obsession

  1. LOVING your bluebonnets. Since we had so little rain last year we did not get our usual beauty of them along the roadsides. But I feel as tho I am now.

    rabbits, autumn, leaves, poetry. All the best stuff!!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jannie,
      I truly, truly miss them, and admit I don’t remember thinking about them at all growing up. I was too late visiting Texas this year to see them, but my family often sends me pictures. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I just noticed the bunny on your blog banner today. 🙂 If I head back down to Texas again, and I plan to, I’ll see about tracking you down. Otherwise I’ll see you in poetry.

  2. Belinda says:

    Hi Yousei,
    I immediately smiled when I saw the image and reading your haiku made me feel uplifted.
    Thanks!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Belinda,
      Welcome and thank you for your visit and comment. I’m so glad this post could offer you some cheer. I visited your site today and found the writing very powerful. I’m happy I could give something positive back to you.

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Oh my! I love this! I have resident wild bunnies and forever am going out in the evening to chase them from my fenced in section of yard before letting my little dogs out. They have finally learned to nest in the front crook of my home under a bush, there, between the front porch and the garage. I see them more in winter and often sit and watch them in the winter daylight. They are gentle souls.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      Hello! I’ve been bragging about you lately. Have your ears been burning? Isn’t that a sweet rabbit in that picture? Not wild, of course. I can see you watching rabbits hopping about in the winter. 🙂 The wild ones have been more active here as well. I find myself looking for them whenever I’m outside. Happy you could stop by and drop a note. I’ve really enjoyed reading and gazing at your posts lately.

  4. slpmartin says:

    Oh what a darling photo and the poem was just perfect!

  5. I love the one line format…I have learned something I must try…and your poem is beautiful

  6. lolamouse says:

    I love your haiku. I didn’t know about the single line in Japanese haiku. It does read differently that way. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      lolamouse,
      Welcome back, my friend. Isn’t it funny that we know things and then see them anew through someone else. I knew about the single line, but only recently did I realize what a difference there is structuring the poem that way. So glad you stopped in so I could share with you. Glad you liked the poem.

  7. wordcoaster says:

    Interesting format, all in one line. I like it 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      wordcoaster,
      Japanese haiku are typically written in a single line. I thought I’d write in that format for a while. It definitely changes how the haiku can be read, as opposed to:

      autumn walks
      past bare trees to find
      rabbit paths

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

