Idiomatic Poetry — dVerse style

There is a new prompt at dVerse, something fun and hopefully easier to get my head around than the last one.  Wait, do I really want it to be easier?  Speaking of “get my head around” . . . the prompt, a Brian Miller original, is as follows:

Today, I would like to have a bit of fun with Idioms. Here is a website where you can explore a list of idioms and choose one or more to play with today.

Here’s how it works…

  • Break a leg. Write a poem using an idiom or two.
  • Post the poem to your blog. Feel free to include a link back to dVerse on your post. It’s all in the name of spreading the poetry love!
  • Using the Mr. Linky box above, copy and paste the URL of your post, enter your name, and click submit! There, you’re in!
  • Read others that have taken up the challenge.
  • Let the cat out of the bag. Tweet, share, and spread the words!
  • Above all, let’s have fun!

So here is my idiom omelet, all in one basket:

You are damned
if you do
sleeved hearts
blind eye turns

when
judging
basket cases
off trolleys
and book jackets
is the best of dual creations

then
you’re eternally empty armed
as you
22, 23, 24 skidoo

so
use your breadstuffs

A trio of clever monkeys who stop themselves f...

Image via Wikipedia

if you don’t
you are damned

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Idiomatic Poetry — dVerse style

  1. An intriguing take on your own prompt. Thanks for the challenge. I enjoyed it.

  2. caty says:

    “idiom omelet all in one basket” loved that you started that way!

  3. zongrik says:

    idiom omelet – cute!!

  4. slpmartin says:

    Very clever use of the idioms!

  5. hobgoblin2011 says:

    Very fun piece, thanks-great job with the prompt

  6. Lots of fun, thanks for the puzzle,

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Anna,
      Happy to oblige. Thanks for the dictionary treasure hunt. I’m not being sarcastic either. I love learning new words, remembering less familiar ones, and seeing how creatively they can all be used and abused. Your poem took a little longer to work thru, but it’s just my type.

  7. Heaven says:

    a creative idiom omelet…you have a gutsy voice here ~

    and nice to meet you at D’Verse ~

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Heaven,
      Very nice to meet you as well, and I do believe your voice is gutsier. Shall we argue and find out? Just teasing. I’ve enjoyed visiting and reading at your blog. I love reading anything like your fishnet mermaid tale. Fits right in with my bitter, anti-romance moods lately. Visit and share whenever you like. I look forward to it.

  8. oh yes, you got your head around this one alright… =) Wasn’t it fun to go with it?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      patriciaspreng,
      Indeed it was, great fun. It also made me aware of how many idioms and cliches I toss around daily. A few too many, to be comfortable. But now I know I can tweak them and refresh them into something new yet familiar. Thanks for coming by for a read.

  9. manicddaily says:

    Your first stanza is especially powerful. I loved the way you broke up damns if you do, and moved on to sleeved hearts and blind eye. The whole poem was interesting, but this was really great, I thought. K.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      manicddaily,
      I have to agree with you that the first stanza is best. Wish I had spent more time crafting the rest, but life and “prose to poetry” sucked it out of me, lol. It was a fun exercise, and it’s obvious everyone who participated enjoyed it. Thanks much for sharing your observations.

  10. the word bar says:

    Wow- this was a fun read and your use of the idiom was quite clever..

    much enjoyed!!!!!
    Lynne

  11. claudia says:

    very cool…you had def. fun playing and this displays in your writing…also enjoyed reading through the comments and gay’s excellent explanation for skidoo…i had no idea..really cool..really well done

    • Yousei Hime says:

      claudia,
      Gay’s comment was great! I was dying of of ignorance and she saved me. I appreciate the visit and observations. Really enjoying the dVerse community. I learn so much from reading and analyzing everyone’s writing, especially yours.

  12. Mary says:

    Yousei, I can see that you had fun too. I loved this prompt. And yes, damned if you do and damned if you don’t. And thanks for the visit.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mary,
      I couldn’t resist using that particular idiom for bookends. The middle was just fun puzzling out. Glad you enjoyed the prompt and your visit here. I know I enjoyed mine in your corner. See you soon. 🙂

  13. Gay says:

    22 and 23 skidoo are both used! It’s because of the flatiron building in NYC. When women were beginning to wear short skirts in the 1920s they would walk on either side of it and the position of the building created a wind tunnel and blew their skirts up revealing their undergarments. Racy times, someone coined the term 22/23 skidoo and it stuck to being revealing, kicking up skirts, kicking up heels. (Anyone who already knew this, my apologies; the pedant in me just can’t resist).

    Loved the poem! You took those common idioms and created something very fresh, very new, very exciting. Indeed 22 skidoo is just right for you. Wheeeee!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Gay,
      I am so glad you added the explanations for skidoo in your comment. I hadn’t looked it up, and the open ending was bothering me. So glad you enjoyed the piece. It was great fun to create and even more fun sharing it. Thanks so much for what you’ve added. 😀

  14. Roy Schulze says:

    So far, I’ve most enjoyed the pieces in this batch that sneak up on the idioms without giving away the game. So far, yours takes the prize. In fact, I’m still trying to decode a few of your lines.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Roy,
      Welcome. Thank you for your visit and kind words. I think I’m still trying to decode some of mine as well. I do enjoy puzzles too, so I just had to make it interesting. Glad you’re up for the challenge.

  15. brian says:

    ha skidoo is such a cool word…like the echo at the end of the opening…or really the completing of it…fun stuff…glad you took up the prompt…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      I had a great time with this. It was irresistible. Everyone took slightly different tacks with it, didn’t they? It’s been a pleasure reading them. Thanks again for coming up with the idea.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

