Star Festival — Tanabata

tanabata

Image by weno via Flickr

Today is Tanabata.

I visited the Japanese Cultural Center near my home again and listened to the love story of Orihime and Hikoboshi.

Then I made my wish, wrote it down and hung it on a tree.

The women of the center also offered to write wishes in Japanese calligraphy.

Wishes made, I walked to a bench by the river and composed a few Tanabata senryu.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

milky way
Tanabata crows
call for stars

will my tears
move clouds–wishes hang
on bamboo

happiness–
wished with bamboo and
black sumi

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

May everyone have clear skies to walk the bridge to their dreams.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Photo, Poetry, Reflections, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Star Festival — Tanabata

  1. lesliepaints says:

    You commented my way today, Yousei, and I thank you for that. I have been by here frequently and still enjoy all that you write. …and your son, your son writes beautifully, too. I am not a writer, as you know, but recognise your gift as superb. You always pass on such feeling in your work.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      Thank you so much for your visit and comment. Your words encouraged me in a much needed moment. I always look forward to the thoughts you share as much as your art. You underestimate your own writing.

  2. fivereflections says:

    very interesting – i’ve learned something new! thanks for sharing

  3. Pingback: It’s Tanabata Festival, and my wishes | Puer Magi Halfey Magica

  4. I like that first one the best. Tanabata is always such a beautiful and romantic festival; we don’t have anything like it here. Glad you got to celebrate it. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph Harker,
      Thank you, Joseph. The celebration was modest, but I really enjoyed it. I’m so grateful to have a place like that to visit. I’m hoping to go to the Bon Odori event in August. I think I can manage once a month gas money for these trips. 😉

  5. slpmartin says:

    So very beautiful…my favorite line was the one “will my tears move clouds..”…just loved it!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

