On Our Walk

paused
two steps behind you
a quick glance back
at an open doorway
in the stone walls
still a home
a resting place
for
fallen limbs and butterflies
rambling multiflora
soft, clinging moss
forgotten memories and beetles
buried in the dirt and debris
accumulating
on a stone floor
no one treads
anymore
except with sad, curious eyes
turning back
to the path
to you
I cannot explain
the tears in my eyes
but I’m not asked to
we walk on
my hand
aches
with memories

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Photo, Poetry, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Our Walk

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Takes me back to my youth and venturing through a field where an old deserted farm house and remnants of a bank barn stood. Michigan it was. I felt what you wrote here. Beautiful poetry, Yousei. Thank you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      Maybe it is a bank barn. Wouldn’t it be something if it were the same place? Thanks for stopping by and sharing your story and my poem.

      • lesliepaints says:

        Yes it would. This does look like an old downstairs entryway to a bank barn and that is what reminded me of it. I won’t ruin our thought by saying where mine was or may still be. Sometimes it is nice to know that someone else has felt the same………

  2. slpmartin says:

    The photograph reminded me of the old bunkers used during the WWI and II….a sad history indeed for them.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Indeed. I wonder what Europeans who live near those bunkers think of when they venture near them. I don’t know for certain what this structure was but it is in a old farming region. It’s one of several old structures in the area. The walls of this structure did not seem to be damaged, only half walls. Maybe there were wooden walls attached. Mine is all speculation, but wouldn’t it be an adventure to find out.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

