On a Recent Walk

horseshoe scarred
already–next winter’s snow
will polish you

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you made any interesting spring discoveries?

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Photo, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to On a Recent Walk

  1. aloha Yousei Hime – funny. i do know at least a little (visual) about horseshoe crabs. a very armored prehistoric looking creature. i was stun frozen the first time i saw one in a shallow tidal pool.

    i too like this photo. …

    unknown words
    horseshoes on stone
    haiku

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      I don’t think I’ve ever seen one other than pictures. I imagine it would be quiet surprising to “walk” up on one. Isn’t it curious and wonderful, the things that catch our eye and spark our imagination.

  2. suzicate says:

    All of your haikus are simply lovely.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      suzicate,
      Thank you. I’ve enjoyed my visits to your blog as well. I particularly love your photography and thoughtful writing. I look forward to seeing you there again, and maybe here to from time to time. 😉

      • suzicate says:

        Thank you for visiting my blog. I’ve tried my hand for the first time at haiku this past week. Those are posted on my poetry blog. My blog friend Trisha encouraged me to try it. She has a lovely talent for haiku and poetry.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          suzicate,
          Do you have a link to your poetry blog at the site I usually visit? I’d love to read some. I think haiku are simple to write but difficult to write really well. Point me toward your poetry blog and I’ll definitely stop by.

  3. sandy says:

    I like this poem, but I don’t know a thing about horseshoe crabs.

  4. Yousei: you don’t know horseshoe crabs?! You must discover them at once! They’re fantastic.

    (And the haiku is thoughtful as well. A worthy spring discovery!)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      🙂 I have obediently looked them up, and I realize I knew of horseshoe crabs but put the name to the mysterious creature. Remind me a bit of Pokemon. Thanks for the visit and comment. I’ve enjoyed trying to catchup on my backlog of post reading (much of which is yours 😉 ).

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I just read a blog about horseshoe crabs. It made me have to think about this for a minute. Great haiku. Nothing out of the ordinary this spring so far. It is such a delightful time of year.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Lisa!
      So glad you stopped by. Horseshoe crabs? I’ll have to look them up. I’m sure you have lots of beautiful things growing in your garden already. My daffodils were the first volunteers, and now a creeping phlox (I think) and small bluebonnet like flower. I know that’s not what it is, because if they could grow this far north, this Texan would have a field of them already. Still, I love it when they show up. I’ll have another picture from that walk up soon. Enjoy your spring. 🙂

  6. brian says:

    an interesting pairing with the horseshoe, i do like the restoration theme…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      One of the things I like best about haiku, though it is difficult to achieve, is describing the natural but finding the universe. I was actually walking on a horse path in a nearby state park when I saw that rock. I almost passed it without taking the picture. As sometimes happens, I took a second look and realized that the horses that had just passed me and my friend may have struck it with their hooves and helped create the patterns on its surface. It looks almost like writing. Knowing how much snow we can get here and how long that rock might be buried under that snow, I realized its surface might be refinished in time for next spring. I like the haiku well enough, but I love the photo. Thanks for coming by and sharing it with me.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

