Spring

Konohana Sakuyahime

Dislike her but unable to resist her,
the dark iris
high and straightly,
in the white page, a single phrase of boldness.
Attracting hums
calmly from beginning,
dark, dark silk and smell of the flower,
taste all–
elegance and purpose,
small and with method.
From the petal-lip
each secret vibrates.
Monochromatic ink strokes pull certainly at my edges.
Beauty twines where tongue,
a splendid stalk of sweet reason, trembles.
Bloom, leaf, stalk–everything stands
independently,
caught loosely,
in the assault
of tender admiration.

Big Tent Poetry

Promising Poets Parking Lot

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Painting/Drawing, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Spring

  1. anjuartwriter says:

    beautiful expression ‘tender admiration’

    • Yousei Hime says:

      anjuartwriter,
      It is a rewrite of an earlier poem, but you are correct, it is a poem of admiration. I’m glad you liked it. Thank you for reading and commenting. Hope you’ll visit again sometime.

      • anjuartwriter says:

        You are welcome your choice of words and combination of phrases touches the deep emotions, at least I was, will visit again Insha allah

  2. The Fool says:

    Really enjoyed every word of it. Every word is rich in meaning and imagery.

  3. Brenda says:

    I’m so glad you came by my site because I feel as if I’ve come upon a treasure. Your brush drawing and poem are like two petals in the breeze. Each creating the other, and humming. My favourite part, ‘each secret vibrates.’ That line takes me deeply into the flower in its written and painted and remembered senses (we’re still too cold here for flowers though soon).

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Brenda,
      I am very glad you returned the visit. I revisited your site to recall what your wrote, and what a fascinating visual collection you just posted. Thank you for your visit and your comment. I look forward to sharing poetry and comments with you.

  4. roxie says:

    passion and eloquence perfectly blended! 😀

  5. Kelly says:

    Wonderful wordplay and sensual imagery going on here. Loved the whole thing, but these lines stood out for me especially:

    Monochromatic ink strokes pull certainly at my edges.

    in the assault
    of tender admiration.

  6. pamela says:

    Magical piece about the iris, beautifully put.

    Pamela

  7. Kim Nelson says:

    I will never again look at an iris in the same way. This is magical, beautiful, so observant.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kim Nelson,
      Thank you for your visit and observation. What more can a writer ask than to alter, now matter how slightly, the perspective of a reader. Do visit again.

  8. versebender says:

    Image and verse beautifully matched…particularly liked this line…so mysterious.

    From the petal-lip
    each secret vibrates.

    Wonderful write. Vb

    • Yousei Hime says:

      versebender,
      Thank you for your visit and comment. A little mystery, whether in poetry or a person, is a wonderful thing … is it not? You’re welcome here anytime.

  9. belladonna23 says:

    this is really beautiful, i loved it. Great rally piece, i wish you much success and since i can assume you know a little Japanese, i should have written “ganbatte” instead c(;

  10. Beauty twines where tongue,
    a splendid stalk of sweet reason, trembles– great lines. Also, the assault at the end. Thanks for sharing.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Patricia Caspers,
      Thank you for your visit and comment. You’re the first to note the ending. Personally I’d like to wrestle spring down and keep her here, but she’s too quick for this simple rabbit. Stop by again anytime.

  11. Jade says:

    What an elegant, passionate poem! I enjoyed this one very much. The poem & photo work well together. The title is just right for it, too.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jade,
      Thank you so much for your visit and comment. I think a lot about spring now, and the title just had to be about her. Hope you’ll stop by again sometime.

  12. thingy says:

    Oh, this is beautiful. Wow.

  13. lesliepaints says:

    I am never disappointed in your poetry. This is beautiful, Yousei.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      Thank you for your heartening words. I wanted to get out my sumi-e materials, but hadn’t the time (or patience). I settled for experimenting with art app on my phone. I’m pleased with how it turned out, but I really want to get into some painting this summer. I appreciate your visits.

  14. slpmartin says:

    Really love the poem…and the image paired with it.

  15. Artswebshow says:

    Excellent poem Yousei.
    Very nicely crafted.
    That is one hell of a flower

  16. A.B. Thomas says:

    A fantastic piece – loved the line “monochromatic ink strokes pull certainly at my edges”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      A. B. Thomas,
      Thank you so much for the visit and comment. I also like that line. It’s fascinating how rearranging words can change not only meaning but impact of a phrase. Hope to see you again.

  17. Jingle says:

    this is specially beautiful,
    how blissful to see you…

    Happy Rally, I always enjoyed your participation ever since week 1 …
    smiles…

    xxx

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jingle,
      Thank you for your kind words and visit. I’ll participate every once in a while, but I really want to focus on writing. I have a big project next month, but it won’t show up here. There should still be at least once a week posts. Hope you’ll stop by when you can. 🙂

  18. Vinay says:

    some wonderful imageries in this very nicely versed poem Yousei.. my favorite lines were

    Beauty twines where tongue,
    A splendid stalk of sweet reason,
    Trembles.

    Here’s My Poem For Poets Rally

  19. Amazing imagery !loved the monochromatic beauty of this poem.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Butterflies of Time,
      Thank you for visiting and commenting. I’m pleased with the piece as well, maybe not as a whole, but there are definite bits I really like. Please stop by again sometime.

  20. fiveloaf says:

    hey yousei and thank you for coming by my blog- time flies and it had been a long time since.. and i was expecting another haiku from you but haha- well poetry is a journey that prompt us in many directions and certainly you are not left out! love this!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      fiveloaf,
      Hi to you as well. You’re right; it has been a while, and I’m sorry it’s taken so long. There are still plenty of haiku showing up here, but I wanted to do something broader. Glad you liked it, and thanks for the visit and comment.

  21. Tumblewords says:

    Elegant and eloquent, this lovely piece sings.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

