Twilight

dawn gave birth
to an empty day
cloudless, windless
still and without purpose
there are no new paths
there are no fresh faces
until evening approaches
then the sky seeps into the snow and ice
and when she hides her face
for the space of a sigh
everything
is
robin egg blue

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Twilight

  1. It’s so beautifully melancholic! It appeals to me. Thanks for sharing!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mariya Koleva,
      It is always encouraging when a visitor reads and comments on many different posts. I’m glad the writing appeals to you. Thank you for stopping in and reading.

  2. Robin Mullet says:

    Beautiful poem. Full of grace.

  3. I found your blog from a comment on an old post of mine, “Little Red Sneakers”. Wish I found you sooner. Beautiful blog and posts. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Cheryl McNulty,
      Thank you so much for discovering my blog and especially for leaving a comment. I went back and reread your “Little Red Sneakers” poem and smiled as I did. This year my oldest is graduating, and my youngest is a freshman in high school. So many changes and challenges in this school year already. I’m so glad you left a message. I’m adding you to my blog roll and subscriptions, and I look forward to reading your writing again.

  4. A well-captured instant from a well-phrased whole… I love the bluer moments in those purposeless days.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph Harker,
      Thank you, both for the visit and the comment. Bluer moments are the ones that remind me I am a feeling, caring human being. Unlike anger and even joy, I look in and outside myself when melancholy. Feels like the writing is more adaptable to the reader’s mood, and I like that. Congrats on your recent submissions and publications.

  5. Artswebshow says:

    Brilliant.
    I really like that image too.

  6. Gordon Mason says:

    Great opening and finishing images. Like the idea of an empty day.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Gordon Mason,
      Thank you for stopping by, reading, and commenting. I too like the empty day image. It set the tone for the whole poem. I visited your site and enjoyed my time there. You have a nice site.

  7. blissbait says:

    Yousei!!!!!!!!!! HELLO!!!!! I missed You and hope You are well! This is gorgeous! Wow. I gasped when I saw the photo. Amazing. And read the poem aloud twice. So beautiful. Thank You! Huge Hugs and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

  8. brian miller says:

    nice…sounds like a good day to stay inside…and look at its beauty out the window…smiles.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian miller,
      I was in most of the day. Then I had to run to the store and promptly had a flat tire. 😀 Still turned out to be a very nice day. Thanks for stopping in and commenting.

  9. lesliepaints says:

    A little sad with the quiet and to think the sky goes to bed blue. It also reminds me of the hush and quiet of the day following a winter storm. Beautiful, Yousei.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I suppose it is more of an after storm sky, though the snowfall was more gentle than stormy. That faint blue, faint purple hue right before full dark is so difficult to capture and is one of my favorites. Of course, I am a fan of quiet and sad, strange little rabbit that I am. Glad you stopped by.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

