Inspired by Winter Winds

Bonfire at the Acreage

Image by Captain Kimo - Currently in Thailand via Flickr

these harsh winter winds
steal fire’s warmth, summon smoke-ghosts
to sting tear-filled eyes,
they fling fall’s last leaves skyward–
unexpected pirouette

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Inspired by Winter Winds

  1. Such lively imagery, I can feel the harsh bites of the winds. Thanks for sharing!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mariya Koleva,
      It was not a pleasant physical experience, but it was a satisfying evening nonetheless. I’m happy to have shared it with you. Thank you again for your reading and comments.

  2. jruthkelly says:

    the wind is blowing fiercely here today and i sit reading this with a grin and a sigh of appreciation. such amazing slices of raw nature and life here in these words…i love how they transport me to the feel, the hum of these layers. a grand poem…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you, Cuz. I was just reading a couple of your posts the other day, and I thought, “Her writing has really matured.” Thank you for reading mine and making me feel like I’ve grown a bit too.

  3. Artswebshow says:

    Fantastic poem.
    Powerful imagery.
    Enjoyed this

  4. sandy says:

    I like the way the words have action in this poem. There is such a sense of what is going on. Nice.

  5. Don’t worry, they’ll be gone soon! 🙂 I enjoyed the “unexpected pirouette”: as uncomfortable as those winds may be, seeing little cyclones of leaves always makes my day.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph Harker,
      That wind and leaf dance was definitely a special scene. When I glanced up and saw them twirling, I thought, “Ah . . . I have to capture that somehow. Wish I had a camera.” Thanks for sharing the moment with me.

  6. Hiruta says:

    I just now posted two pictures of a big tug of war in Akita with my haiku at my blog.
    Please check it out and enjoy!
    http://akitahaiku.blogspot.com/

  7. Oh wow–“smoke ghosts”–wonderful word imagery–and accompanying image, Rabbit Poet. Thank you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      47whitebuffalo,
      I’d like to take credit for the image, but it was one provided by the WordPress Media Gallery. It went so well and really looked quite a bit like the actual bonfire scene (except I’m not that thin 😦 ). Because of the wind, the smoke stayed near the ground but moved quickly across the field. It really did look like ghosts. Thanks for stopping by. I’ve really enjoyed your posts I’ve read recently.

  8. Hiruta says:

    Beautiful poem, thank you!
    Here in Akita, there was a local festival called ‘Tug of war’ held recently. It seems that the tug of war was played between winter and spring. But it is really between good harvest and good health.
    Well, your inspiring poem made me write the following haiku.

    Tug of war
    between winter winds and fire’s warmth
    snow fairies’ dancing

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hiruta-san,
      Welcome back. We have had a similar tug of war here lately, that shift between winter staying and spring arriving. I hope someday to come to Japan and participate in one of these lovely festivals. Thank you for sharing your haiku and thoughts. I wish I had a picture to go with your poem, because I can see the scene exactly in my mind. I look forward to visiting your site again soon.

  9. lesliepaints says:

    This is absolutely beautiful…….and STRONG! I really am transported to that moment of the wind tossing the leaves skyward in a pirouette. What a dance!
    Beautiful image you have chosen to illustrate this.
    On a humorous note? May I? The wind usually pirouettes them into my garage, in the spring, as I back my car out. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I’m so glad you read this one and commented. You saw what I was trying to describe. The poem is actually a composite of two different scenes in the same evening–one the bonfire and the other dancing leaves. I know what you mean about the wind sending them in unwanted places. We didn’t have any in our garage this fall because of electrical problems in the garage–thus no electric garage door opener. 😉 So glad you came by and shared the moment with me.

  10. slpmartin says:

    A wonderful scene created with your words…really enjoyed it.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Thank you. You know how you have an idea that you want to capture in writing, then when you try, you like the result but it isn’t exactly what you wanted? This is one of those instances. I like it, but it still didn’t get exactly what I wanted. Do believe I’ll try again sometime. Thank you for stopping by and reading a bit.

  11. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    These fires also seem to summon the fire department from time to time, especially when the wind is involved. People around here are cleaning up so to speak. Your words and picture capture the time.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      I was concerned about the fire spreading too, but we had had a lot of snow that melted over the last few days. Everything was pretty soggy, but I stayed to watch over it. It was bitter cold, the smoke kept shifting directions, and I loved that time. I watched the smoke blow across our property like ghosts fleeing from the light. It was like life, a mix of beauty and bitterness. Glad you stopped by and shared.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

