Comments on Blogs

The logo of the blogging software WordPress.

Image via Wikipedia

While checking in today for recent comments, I noticed the following post from the WordPress crew:  Are you well-versed in comment etiquette? I thought I was.  After reading, I was both humbled and inspired.  I really enjoy reading posts on others blogs, and when I find an especially wonderful, I want to let the writer know.  Now I feel more confident about leaving comments that mean something to me and to the writer.  Thank you, Ms. Johnson and WordPress.  May all your readers enjoy and grow from your post.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
Aside | This entry was posted in Asides, Interesting Blogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comments on Blogs

  1. I read it, too, and I think it’s very adequate. It seems we are more and more out of time to really read and appreciate. I find myself often liking something, but not really knowing what to say. And there are blogs where there is no Like button, so…
    Anyway, I really hope that blogging/commenting culture will develop as we grow – after all, it is a relevantly new form of communication.
    Wishing you only properly-etiquetted readers 😉
    Greetings, M.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mariya Koleva,
      Wasn’t the WordPress post insightful and helpful? I agree with you on the timing issue. I find myself subscribing to too many blogs and then feeling guilty when I cannot keep up with the reading. Just pressing “Like” isn’t enough on some posts though. They demand a more thorough response to honor the thought and writing within. I look forward to seeing how the blogging/comment culture develops. Meanwhile, I appreciate your thoughtful response and readings. You are welcome here any time.

  2. Artswebshow says:

    Etiquette is important.
    As words are the only reference we have to go on.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Artswebshow,
      I agree. Words are one of the few things that endure beyond our existence. Why distract from the impact and purpose of one’s message by filling it with argumentative and overly “colorful” language? I want to improve my writing and communication. Knowing one’s audience is part of that. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

