What is Your Favorite Word?

A Wordle representation of a CTRL+A,C,V of a t...

Image via Wikipedia

A friend of mine recently started a new blog on words.  Reading some of her recent posts, I realized that we share a deep love of words.  So . . .

What is my favorite word? I have no idea only because there are too many to narrow it down to one.  They hold power–to create, to wound, to calm, to bring peace, to deceive, to grow, to stunt, to inspire.  Finding it impossible to choose just one, I will pick one for each letter of the alphabet.

askance
burnish
cacophony
dross
egregious
facetious
garble
hoodwink
incandescent
juxtapose
knell
lithesome
mealy-mouthed
nefarious
onus
perambulate
quibble
rivulet
scintilla
tenacious
undulate
vainglory
winsome
Xiphias
yarrow
zithern

Why did I pick these?  Many reasons.  Some of them, I just like the way they sound and feel when I say them.  For some, there is a sentimental attachment; so many wonderful words have fallen into disuse.  Some were definitely chosen for their meaning–powerful, subtle, striking.  Some I picked for more than one reason, maybe even all three.

Despite this great love, there are some words I do not like, and those are almost always because of a personal connection.  Here are some of them:  should, normal, lazy, fat, responsibility, and various profanity.  One of my personal challenges is to come up with words and phrases that impact even more strongly than profanity.  Of course, there is the rare occasion when nothing else will do.

So . . . what are some of your favorite words?

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Wonderful Words and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What is Your Favorite Word?

  1. Eh! Just one for each letter? Succinct is no acquaintance of mine 😛

    Amber, analogous, amalgamated, auspicious,

    Beleaguered, belligerent, boisterous, brigand,

    Coagulated, coppice, colloquialisms, cantankerous, cavalier

    Delightful, destined, doozy, delicious!

    Elipse, estuary, enamour

    Fandango, ferocious, fastidious, frothy

    Garrulous,

    Handkerchief,

    Intuitive,

    Jollification, juxtapose

    Kookaburra,

    Lithuania, lolling, liquorice,

    Monstrous, mischievous, miscellany,

    Nefarious, nankeen

    Ostentatious, olfactory

    Pounce, pursy, perfidious,

    Questions?

    Regalia,

    Staunch, superfluous, stupendous,

    Tantamount,

    Unequivocal, unilateral

    Verdigris, verity

    Wallow

    Xenophobic (Can’t hear it without remembering a local politicians famous response: “please explain”? )

    “Z” – I regret that there are no words to move me that begin with “Z”.

    The End.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mrs. BB,
      These are great! Some of these I wish I’d thought of–brigand, cantankerous, and fastidious. I love cantankerous. This is definitely one of my favorite posts that I’ve done. 😀

  2. I like this idea, Yousei. I’d have to think about the favourite words.. at present I should (yes, one of the words I don’t especially love, either!) be having a shower and running around getting ready to leave. But I’ll be thinking about this post today… 🙂

  3. Purely for sound, I always say I like the phrase “violent liquid clothing”. It’s like a mantra: I could repeat it to myself over and over and the sounds would just lull me into complacency. Out of the ones you picked though, “juxtapose” and “rivulet” are up there too. Interesting words: there’s not many whose nuances can’t be translated quite as complicatedly as “chutzpah” and “jinx”.

    This IS fun…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph Harker,
      Somehow I thought you might enjoy this post. One could never tell how much you love words. Just teasing. Interesting phrase, “violent liquid clothing.” Although I’ve never used “chutzpah” I have always loved hearing it. I also love the sound and meaning of “douitashimashite.” Language is truly a delight. Thank you for sharing in the fun. 🙂

  4. rdl says:

    love this. sounds like a meme challange that i will tackle sometime. love the profanity challange because my few favorite is flippin for a “replacement”.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      rdl,
      Glad you like it. It is one of the challenges the WordPress crew is providing for those doing the weekly/daily post commitment. Love to see what you come up with. Let me know.

      My most common replacement is “frigging” but I’d really rather come up with something more creative. I used to use “doglip” for years. My father-in-law does a lot of Yosemite Sam impersonations. I love his, though you you don’t want to be on his grumpy side. Thanks for sharing.

  5. VJV says:

    “bunghole” (At least it’s a word that always makes me laugh.)

    Thanks for the publicity!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      VJV
      I chuckled reading your word. I just can’t take that word seriously. Happy to mention you, and I’m enjoying your new blog. I even visited the Professor’s once. See you again soon. 😀

  6. lesliepaints says:

    Very interesting post, Yousei! I do not have a problem selecting my favorite word. It has to be “light”. There are so many definitions to this word but I love the one about illumination!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie

      Light IS a great word, and it has so many other words connected to it, like illumination. I’m surprised I didn’t put illuminate down for the “I” word. Perhaps you would have had more trouble if the task were choosing a favorite color? I’m glad you enjoyed the post, and I look forward to more of your luminous art.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

