Another Poem From My Youngest Child

Time stops when I
see you, Dressed so pretty
in deep dark-blue.
Time only starts when I
see those eyes made of
shiny bright stars stolen from
the midnight sky.  A smile
created to make angels cry,
and hair to dance at swish
of the wind–this is what
I see before me when I finally
come to see the peace in me.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in By My Children, Favorite Poems by Others, Free Verse, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Another Poem From My Youngest Child

  1. jruthkelly says:

    this just blows me away…such a beautiful outpouring from your son. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Cuz
      I do enjoy reading what my boy writes. He improves every time. It’s rough, but sometimes I spy a gem or two of imagery. I am especially grateful because he has struggled to express himself orally. Writing seems an easier and clearer way for him. Thanks for your encouragement.

  2. hames1977 says:

    magically beautiful from the eyes of a child. simply very good poem.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      hames1977,
      Thank you. I am very proud of my son’s writing. He continues to develop and surprise me. Now if we can just get him to turn an eye to those grades. Best of the New Year to you and yours.

  3. ajoops says:

    Such a pretty poem 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      ajoops,
      Thank you for the visit and comment. I am proud of my young writer. He always surprises me with his writing, and I always look forward to reading what he has to share. Glad I could share it with you.

  4. Artswebshow says:

    That poem is fantastic.
    Even more impressive for the fact that it’s written by a child

  5. Oh the love we have for our children—nice poem.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Buffalo Gal,
      Welcome back. Yes, that love we have. I find it heavy but nourishing. I’m celebrating his writing even as I sigh over his grades. Interesting irony somewhere in there. Hope you’re well.

  6. Tania says:

    Beautiful innocent poem. Your child has got talent , he seems to be an aspiring writer 🙂
    Your Child’s Aptitude
    Find out if your child is an aspiring artist or a mini scientist.
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/child_aptitude/child_aptitude_instructions.asp

  7. LT says:

    🙂 How wonderful for you to have a child writing! You celebrate it well.

  8. Souldose says:

    You have a good poet right there, this is great stuff

  9. lesliepaints says:

    Whoa! Is the ability to draw with words hereditary?
    Yousei’s youngest,
    You have just created a beautiful poem that I can read and interpret in so many ways…. “A smile created to make angels cry.” Love that! MORE!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Leslie,
      I’d love to claim that, but his brother, who has a natural gift for language, has no interest in writing. This one is taken over by his writing, poems and stories, and isn’t satisfied until he gets them out on the paper. I’m just delighted that he always shares them with me. He specifically asked me to post it on my blog. That takes courage, don’t you think.

  10. slpmartin says:

    Wow…is right…very fine poem.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Thanks for visiting and commenting. I liked the poem too. I’m very proud of my brave young man. Not too many boys would write and be willing to show it to others.

  11. brian says:

    you know there is ssomething sacred about poetry written by a child…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thanks for commenting. I agree. It is mostly untouched by artifice and design, almost all emotion, angst, energy and beauty. It is young and wobbly just like when he was little. He really has a lovely gift for imagery. Of course, that could just be the mom talking.

  12. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This sounds like love to me.

  13. Amity says:

    Wow…brilliant for your child Yousei… 🙂 I could even feel his message!

    How are you Yousei? Been a long time…you must be so busy…too glad to note your child is fillin’ up the gap in your blog visibility!! 🙂

    Hats off to your son and give my warm regards… 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amity,
      Happy to have you here. How are you? Things have been busy, and not all in welcome ways. They are calming down now . . . yes, even though we head into the busiest season of the year here, calming is occurring. I enjoy sharing my children’s work, and it thrills me to see his writing develop. I’m a proud momma.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

