Needs

For this post, I used this prompt:  Write about five things you need.

After stirring this question around in my mind, these are the ideas that stayed at the top of that pond.

It is very difficult to choose just five needs.  I find my choices depend on the definition of “need.”  If one is considering absolute needs, then the choices are very simple–air to breathe, food to live, water to drink, shelter from elements, and perhaps companionship for sanity.  The traditional concept of companionship can be broadened to include books, animals, music . . . anything that sparks imagination, thought and dialogue.

Now if one agrees that those needs are true for everyone and that we should consider more personal needs,  then my definition changes to what is needed to feed the soul?

For me, the list is as follows (and these were hard to limit):

  • Time alone–solitude, time with self/for self
  • Food for thought–conversation, books, movies, art, music
    . . .
  • Beauty to appreciate–literature, art, music, people, nature,  . . .
  • Self-expression–writing, singing, art, dance, service . . . creation
  • Time of rest–sleep, nap, reflection

There are many sub-categories to my needs, and I realize my needs are rather self-based (selfish).  Isn’t that the nature of need?  Most of these are strongly rooted in the mind.  I noticed exercise isn’t specifically mentioned.  I’m chuckling, but it is a weakness.  I do not do much of this type of writing–self-reflective, self evaluating.  Now to find a healthy balance between absolute needs and personal needs.  What are your needs?

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Prompts, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Needs

  1. Tasneem R says:

    Well if I have to choose 5 things I would say – food, water,tv,companionship and sleep. That’s enough to keep me happy in the least way possible.
    Here’s a fun test – What spice are you?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/spice_personality/spice_personality_instructions.asp

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tasneem R,
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting on my post about Needs. It was a good and fun exercise in considering what we truly need in life. I like your answers. Everyone’s are similar and yet unique in subtle ways. Best to you.

  2. Balance–at the top of my list of needs—I need “Balance” in the world context and the personal context.
    Lots to consider here, Rabbit Poet. How often do we consider what we really really need on a daily basis and what we could really do without?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Buffalo Gal,
      Thanks for stopping in. Balance is a good one. One I didn’t even consider, though I think it was an implicit framework for my needs. My guess is we think about what we want, not what we need, and rarely consider what we can do without. That’s me anyway. Thank you for the thoughts you’ve shared.

  3. calliopespen says:

    Hi Yousei,

    Yes–what a great exercise. I think I’ll have to do this, and soon–I have that restless feeling, and I’m clearly not getting something I need, so what I need to do is stop and take inventory of what makes me feel complete. I have a feeling they’ll be quite similar to yours, and I think that’s where a lot of my unease stems from…thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Hope you are well:)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      calliopespen,
      Yes, yes! Do self-evaluate and let me know what you discover. I was surprised and not surprised by what I felt was essential to my soul health. Whatever you uncover, I hope you find it in the amounts you need. 🙂

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I could say yes to each of the needs you listed. I would add art supplies. Ha.. now how is that for selfishness.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      How could we be what we are without maintaining what we need. That’s why the list is short, we actually need little, but those needs are tremendous. Stay well stocked and thus, fulfilled. I’m trying to replace my deceased laptop and save for a dog. Selfish but necessary. Yes . . . I’m convinced the dog is necessary. 😉

  5. roxie says:

    I love how you began this exercise: what was stirring around…stayed at the top of the pond…yet one more reason why the writing process itself makes us better communicators ~ very well said, organized self-examination! Kudos again to our friendly blogging bunny! 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      roxie,
      😉 I’m not sure about the stirring pond, but I just couldn’t think of another image with depth that could be stirred. Guess I’d go out in a canoe and paddle around to stir things up. 😀 Thank you for coming by and encouraging.

  6. Artswebshow says:

    Simple needs, you deserve them.
    i need to be famous. lol

  7. lesliepaints says:

    I like your list, also, Yousei. It seems I need what you have listed to maintain balance and be productive.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      So many kindred spirits. I would guess that our needs are all slightly different, something easier seen if we were all sitting and chatting in the same room. It does feel good to know others echo one’s own soul. Visiting soon. 😀

  8. Technobabe says:

    Good list in your post.
    I need honesty, trust, books, veggies, health.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      Welcome, welcome. So good to have you back here when it is this silly rabbit who has been away. I like your list, especially the books. 😉 Good health to you!

  9. Jacquie says:

    Reads very similar to my “needs” list, too. I’d have to add the need to walk (I’ve been quite sedantary lately due to health issues and am really missing being able to go on proper walks –which, for me, can be a positive way of experiencing solitude, refreshing my mind, appreciating nature, etc.). Btw, are you like me in that the fall feels like the start of a new year more than January does (start of new school year, feeling of new possibilities in the air…)? The “needs” list reminds me of New Year’s resolutions, and it seems appropriate for the fall –a good time to self-refect and rethink or reconfirm priorities. Thanks for the prompt!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jacquie,
      You are so right! Fall is definitely more of a new year time for me. Things really crisped up last night, dropping down around 30 degrees F. Glad you had time to visit and comment. I’m wishing you health and long walks.

  10. slpmartin says:

    A fine list of ‘needs’…I share many of them.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      It was an interesting experiment, to think about what I need. I was as uncomfortable with thinking about and evaluating myself as I was delighted in the discoveries. I suspect many of us share these personal needs in their general forms. I find I desire more reading, but I wonder if I don’t actually need more of other things . . . like the beauty of nature. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

